RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 04:00 AM
  #76
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

maybe they aren't programmable in the modern sense but the old futaba FG radios were built better than just about everything on the market today. good gimbals, good switches and nice metal cases. if all you want to do is go fly instead of playing the "my radio can do more than yours" game there is no reason not to use them as long as you change the batteries.

and since these more than likely have a removable module you could also upgrade them to 2.4GHz with no problems. hitec, futaba and sprectrum all make modules that will work. my fave is the hitec as they just seem to work and are the least expensive, something like $120 will get you a combo with a module and three receivers. there are also a bunch of super cheap low end module and receiver combos out of china that will work as well. all of these modules are based on the newer small futaba module but the pinout is the same so you just have to tape them in place in an old FG.
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:15 AM
  #77
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,809
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

You loose some features and system speed by running a module
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:01 AM
  #78
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

With the last aluminum case radio I had, if one cell of the transmit pack failed... it was crunch time. If a servo needed reversing, one had to open up the servo, fire up the soldering iron and swap the motor leads and and move the pot wire to the other end of the pot. And... if one had two or more flight packs on the same transmitter, all controls had to be configured the same in each plane and every linkage had to be trimmed on the plane. Those are just for starters of the inconveniences.

No thanks... while I appreciated that transmitter in that day... I don't want to go back.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:13 PM
  #79
1THEPALMER
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

How do you loose features by changing the module in a module based radio? Please explain how you will loose system speed also. Links to actual tests/data will help.
Thanks
1THEPALMER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:11 PM
  #80
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,809
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

You misunderstood (or I was unclear)

You loose features over using a native 2.4 radio.

The reason is pretty simple, you're converting to PPM and back again, and older module based radios are where near as fast as todays radios.

Features like servo synch (remapping the outputs so that things like dual ailerons, dual elevators, and 3 servo CCPM helis get their position updates at the same time no matter where they are physically plugged in instead of polling the channels 1 through 9 regardless)

Model Match on JR/Spektrum isn't available with most of the modules.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:03 PM
  #81
eddieC
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Quote:
Model Match on JR/Spektrum isn't available with most of the modules. 

Wow, I didn't know that. Thanx!
eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:19 PM
  #82
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,809
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Sure, the way model match works is when you bind a module the last two digits of the GUID are 00

When you bind it to a native system like an 11X or DX7 the 0's are replaced by the model memory number, effectively giving each model memory its own GUID
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:56 AM
  #83
1THEPALMER
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

I puchased a native 2.4 system for those exact reasons.
1THEPALMER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:35 AM
  #84
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Interesting stuff... thanks for sharing.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:38 AM
  #85
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 1THEPALMER

I puchased a native 2.4 system for those exact reasons.
Please remember that Model Match is a patented feature only available on the Spektrum radios as well as the JR 2.4GHz radios running either DSM2 or DSMX RF formats.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:51 AM
  #86
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a "feature".
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:01 AM
  #87
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a ''feature''.
Hindrance? I used to think I'd never start a model with the wrong one loaded into the tx due to the way I preflight my models until I did it one day. Pretty good scare as I had a YS-110 swinging an APC 16x6 "knife" at about 9500 RPM and couldn't shut it off or even reach a fuel line, but all the control deflections were correct. If it hadn't been tied down at the tail, that thing would have eaten my lunch before I could have gotten out of the way.

Now after playing with RC models for a number of years, my personal opinion is that those who deny ever having started a model with the wrong one up on the tx are either lying or only have one model. Oh wait, there is another type; those guys usually have orange T-shirts to go along with their opinion that Model Match isn't a good idea or worthwhile safety feature 'cause their radio manufacturer doesn't have it.

There; I've rekindled the age old argument.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:14 AM
  #88
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a ''feature''.
There is virtually no one who does not find the "Model Match" technology to be sound, regardless of which RC radio manufacturer they favor. You obviously do not have the capacity to understand it, or you are just a Troll trying to stir up some resentment.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:17 AM
  #89
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

no matter how useful it may be if it can't be turned off or disabled then it's a hindrance. been using programmable radios for 15 years and no mishaps. right now i have over 90 setups in my radio's memory.
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:20 AM
  #90
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a ''feature''.
There is virtually no one who does not find the ''Model Match'' technology to be sound, regardless of which RC radio manufacturer they favor. You obviously do not have the capacity to understand it, or you are just a Troll trying to stir up some resentment.
have they changed it to allow the binding of more than one receiver to a single memory slot? if not then it's still a hindrance and unusable for a lot of what i do.

if they have changed it then that's a step in the right direction.
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:29 AM
  #91
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a ''feature''.
There is virtually no one who does not find the ''Model Match'' technology to be sound, regardless of which RC radio manufacturer they favor. You obviously do not have the capacity to understand it, or you are just a Troll trying to stir up some resentment.
have they changed it to allow the binding of more than one receiver to a single memory slot? if not then it's still a hindrance and unusable for a lot of what i do.

if they have changed it then that's a step in the right direction.
As long as the Rx is the same Type (DSM2 and DSM2 or DSMX and DSMX) then more than one Rx can be bound to the same Model Memory.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:42 AM
  #92
Propworn
 
Propworn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,468
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT

i would consider model match more of a hindrance than a ''feature''.
There is virtually no one who does not find the ''Model Match'' technology to be sound, regardless of which RC radio manufacturer they favor. You obviously do not have the capacity to understand it, or you are just a Troll trying to stir up some resentment.
I have run into model match when using others equipment no big deal. Like failsafe, some like it others don't. I once asked if it could be turned off and was told they did not think so. I also asked if more than one receiver could be bound to operate on the same model number at the same time and again no one was sure. They had these radios with these features for quite some time but never bothered to understand them. In my opinion it would not have made any difference to them if they had it or not. On the other hand I often have two or more receivers in a model and as long as it is bound to my transmitter it works fine. The only time I have ever started a plane on the wrong model has been when a transmitters only had one model and no memory. The second model needed to have the rudder reversed when I flew it ( I know bad setup in the first place) . With the advent of the computer radio and the ability to name each model I haven't had a repeat of the wrong model. No need in my opinion for model match if you’re careful. I can see it being useful for some but hardly what I would call a necessity.

For instance a few weeks ago during an indoor flying session one of my control surfaces failed to operate after a mid air. The servos we use are inexpensive and sometimes fragile. It was quite easy to check by simply turning on a second model that was bound to that transmitter. It worked fine confirming what we suspected that the servo was shot. With model match from my understanding this would not have been possible.

Dennis
Propworn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:02 AM
  #93
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


As long as the Rx is the same Type (DSM2 and DSM2 or DSMX and DSMX) then more than one Rx can be bound to the same Model Memory.
and both operate at the same time?
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:10 AM
  #94
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

The elite must hang out here because at my field, guys try to fly with the wrong model regularly. I call it flight line rodeo.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:18 AM
  #95
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


As long as the Rx is the same Type (DSM2 and DSM2 or DSMX and DSMX) then more than one Rx can be bound to the same Model Memory.
and both operate at the same time?
Absolutely -
When Spektrum brought 2.4 to the fliers - I was lucky enough to get one of the first batch of DSM (the DX6) and since then -like others -have tried to find what it would would not do.
There are specific types of rx - DSM DSM2 DSMX and there are some versions of DSM2 which were default 1024 and others 2048
. A s long as all the rx in question are SAME rx default - you can bind a thousand at a time - (to one tx)
Real world testing shows it works easily and is used by more than a few fliers .
If you think you are careful enough to never start a model unintentionally- good for you -
Looks like you haven't flown long enough to enter the world of encountering a brain fart.
It will happen sooner or later .
My own requirements in selecting a new sysem start with "does it have Model Match?"
If not - Not Interested .
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:24 AM
  #96
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ZAGNUT


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BuschBarber


As long as the Rx is the same Type (DSM2 and DSM2 or DSMX and DSMX) then more than one Rx can be bound to the same Model Memory.
and both operate at the same time?
Andy Kunz is the best person to answer these types of questions. He has done so many times in the past and on this same subject. I have not Bound two receivers to the same transmitter, with a Spektrum radio that has Model Match, but it is my understanding that it works perfectly. You Bind one receiver at a time, one after another.

I have been flying RC for 35 years and I have never had a need to use Redundant receivers. I have never had a receiver fail in the air. On 72Mhz I have had glitches caused by RF Noise. I have used Redundant Rx batteries on occasion. I fly Giant Scale Gassers, Turbine Jets, and everything else. I realize that many pilots who have expensive aircraft do use multiple receivers in the same aircraft. Some are for Redundancy and others just to simplify assembly at the field.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:32 AM
  #97
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Done this quite a few times - that is why I note that the default must be the same - on early 1024 rx and later 2048 types - I found you got a confused set of rx!
Ask Andy -
Or try it yourself - -Ue a 2048 TX - see what happens.
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:49 AM
  #98
eddieC
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Quote:
at my field, guys try to fly with the wrong model regularly. I call it flight line rodeo.

Lol! I'll remember that one. 

I have a selectable freq module for my transmitters. I call it dial-a-crash.  
eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:52 AM
  #99
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

Kraft introduced that concept -as I recall- and it was a dial a crash.
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:57 AM
  #100
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Radio Technology ????? HELP!

I have Synthesized 72Mhz RF Modules on a Futaba 9CAP and a JR XP9303. I always check the Tx to see what channel the module is set to and obtain the appropriate Frequency Pin before turning on the Tx. No Dial a Crash possible if that procedure is followed. I have since abandoned 72Mhz and use a Spektrum module in the XP9303. I also have a DX8.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:33 AM.