RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:19 AM
  #26
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

decent switches can be had at digikey for less than a dollar and the really good ones can cost 2-3 dollars....only problem is you have to solder them up into a harness by yourself, something it seems most aren't willing to do.
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:43 AM
  #27
Kmot
Thread Starter
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

What I get from all the responses is that the standard 3-wire switch included in complete radio systems for decades, are prone to failure and not to be trusted.

In order to be more self assured, a stout industrial quality switch should be substituted and wired into place using the Rx plug.

The last option is to not use a switch at all, and plug in the Rx battery when ready to go fly.

Thanks everyone, for your thoughts and comments.
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:57 PM
  #28
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Wow! It's Zagnut! Haven't seen you in a while brother Is you kid old enough to shave yet?
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:08 PM
  #29
ZAGNUT
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

no shaving yet...we have to get past the 1st grade fart jokes first

and he's got two sisters to beat on now[>:]
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:18 PM
  #30
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Quote:
we have to get past the 1st grade fart jokes first

and he's got two sisters to beat on now[>:]
Those jokes make that age the best part of parenthood.

I see you have been a little busy with other nocturnal activities keeping you away from RCU[8D]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:15 PM
  #31
mattokeol
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: , AR
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Switches have always been a problem in RC.
mattokeol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:20 PM
  #32
JL1
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

I have used these for several years without a failure

http://www.qualityrcproducts.com/products_switches.html
JL1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:05 AM
  #33
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Yep... switches have always been a source of failures and concern and hence why redundancy is the choice for most giant aircraft.

One scheme used many years ago was phono jacks and plugs wired so that inserting the plug disconnected the battery.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:11 AM
  #34
JL1
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

FWIW, I would not trust a Phone jack for this application. They have a small contact area and are not meant for high current applications.
JL1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:23 AM
  #35
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

I have used the 1/8" phone jacks as an on/off switch only once. It was on an .049 powered hand launch sailplane. The big red tag hanging from the phone jack hopefully would keep you from launching without powering up the radio. That was in another Galaxy and long, long ago I hate to tell you how many guys in our club tossed their .049 powered sailplane, only to realize "I ain't got it"
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:59 PM
  #36
Mikecam
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Electro Dynamics switch, the original all others have been copied from.

http://www.electrodynam.com/rc/usw/index.shtml

See what the difference is. http://www.electrodynam.com/rc/usw/compare.shtml
Mikecam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:36 AM
  #37
Four Stroker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , GA
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Some people are suckers to marketing.
Four Stroker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:11 AM
  #38
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Exactly what I'm using these days
I only wish they had an LED indicator built right into the switch plate to indicate when power is on.
FWIW, I did have a solder joint failure in one of MPI's similar switches some years ago, almost lost my 4 Star 60, luckily it was intermittent and I was able to land safely.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:25 AM
  #39
Four Stroker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , GA
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

A good switch should have:

1) knife action
2) redundancy - at least 2PDT
3) soldering by orphans that are not on meth

Often overlooked are the crimps on the connectors.

I have not found the aftermarket stuff to be any better than JR or Futaba.
Four Stroker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:07 AM
  #40
flyallday
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Don't see it mentioned here but the Powersafe RX's have a fail - on switch.

Harry
flyallday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:06 AM
  #41
Kmot
Thread Starter
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

For $300 bucks it better do something!!
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:34 AM
  #42
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Sure, with the Powersafe receivers you add the extra complexity of the solid state switching in the receiver, and while more uncommon, a switch harness can possibly short closed. For my money, I'll take two switches, such as the ones from Electro Dynamics in parallel, to a solid state logic switch in the receiver, or one of the popular add-on's that are available (I don't like the parasitic battery drain bit). The failure rate of one of the simple switches such as the ED ones is very low, put two in parallel and the odds of loosing power gets really low. I like simple[8D]
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:42 AM
  #43
baronbrian
 
baronbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 878
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

I have used the JR gold switches for the better part of 20 years exclusively without incident on lots of planes from .60 to 1.80 size, fast charging, and high power servos. The extra six or seven dollars is worth it and I always replace a switch after a bad crash. If someday I ever switched radio brands, I would stick with this switch no matter what.
baronbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:18 PM
  #44
flyallday
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Kmot

For $300 bucks it better do something!!
I payed $230 from my LHS for the AR12120 and just got another for FREE with a DX18QQ - oh wait - guess that wasn't free after all

Harry

BTW, have not heard of one failing closed..

flyallday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:12 AM
  #45
MX240
 
MX240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PoDunk City, NE
Posts: 1,032
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Four Stroker

The Noble switch also had a very strong detent ball. The Futaba Heavy Duty switch is knife action DPDT wired in parallel. The detent is a stupid spring thing.
I agree, When I get a new Futaba product their poor quality switch gets thrown in the trash and replaced with a good JR heavy duty switch.
MX240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:56 AM
  #46
Kmot
Thread Starter
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: flyallday




I payed $230 from my LHS for the AR12120 and just got another for FREE with a DX18QQ -

DX18QQ

Harry you kill me!
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:59 PM
  #47
baronbrian
 
baronbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 878
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

As a side note, I always mount switches inside the model as to prevent dirt, dust, exhaust residue and moisture from entering the mechanism and fowling the contacts. Personally, I would not turn a plane on and off by plugging in a external lead as in the picture of the quickie plane seen earlier in this thread because of how easy the contacts could become dirty and cause a poor connection. I now always use a pushrod with the pull on/push off convention to activate the switch. Using the same method in every model prevents accidents and confusion. In the few planes that I have had with a switch mounted in the fuse side, I always make sure the switch is mounted so that moving it towards the tail, not the nose, turns the plane on, thus preventing accidental switching off in flight due to the "bug strike theroy" Lastly, anytime a switch is involved in a crash and I suspect that the leads or connectors have been put in any type of strain, I throw away the switch and replace it. I don't make it my job to evaluate wires, connectors, or solder joints that have been subject to a hard hit or shock. I am not a expert in this and i don't take chances. Taking care of your equipment is the biggest part of reliability.
baronbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:10 PM
  #48
Kmot
Thread Starter
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

A push-pull rod is how I normally operate my Rx switch also, which is mounted inside the fuselage. And I routinely install toggle switches for on-board glow. I suppose I could do the same for the Rx switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98834.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	1845069  
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:21 PM
  #49
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

I have used JR and MPI Switch Harnesses with the molded in charge Jack that has a door on it. I have never had one fail, they can be used to Bind a Spektrum Rx, and the door keeps the dirt out of the charge jack.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:46 PM
  #50
4*60
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OK, what's the deal with Rx switches?

Guys...go to rctimer.  Look at the switches with charge jack and led.  They work.  Look at the price.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:14 PM.