RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

servo

Reply
Old 02-13-2013, 05:07 AM
  #1
mugwart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mandan, ND
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo

i would like to find out how to figure out how to replace stock servos with aftermarket ones for example i want to change out a traxxas 2055 servo how would i go about looking for the right servo to drop right in with little to no modifications any help would be great
mugwart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 05:23 AM
  #2
CHassan
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MainevilleOH
Posts: 1,292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo

Find the specs on your servo
(Did that for you)
Modulation: Analog
Torque: 6.0V: 86.0 oz-in (6.19 kg-cm)
Speed: 6.0V: 0.20 sec/60°
Weight: 1.59 oz (45.0 g)
Dimensions: Length:1.60 in (40.6 mm)
Width:0.80 in (20.3 mm)
Height:1.43 in (36.3 mm)
Motor Type: Brushed
Gear Type: Plastic

Look for a replacement with the same rough case size and at least the torque and speed you have, maybe a tad more.

http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/ser...hs-5625mg.html
Hitec HS-5625MG

Motor Type: 3 Pole Ferrite
Bearing Type: Dual Ball Bearing
Speed (4.8V/6.0V): 0.17 / 0.14
Torque oz./in. (4.8V/6.0V): 110 / 131
Torque kg./cm. (4.8V/6.0V): 7.9 / 9.4
Size in Inches: 1.59 x 0.77 x 1.48
Size in Millimeters: 40.39 x 19.56 x 37.59
Weight ounces: 2.11
Weight grams: 59.82


Doesn't mean this would be a good replacement. I would think it would be but there might be better, I didn't spend much time looking. You can also do a RCU search for "traxxas 2055" or "traxxas 2055 replacement" to see what others might have already said.
CHassan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:37 AM
  #3
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo

One other thing to watch out for when you change brands of servos. Different brands turn in different directions with the same change in input pulse width so you may have to change the reverse switch in your transmitter to get the same reaction from the new servo.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:04 AM
  #4
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 971
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rodney

One other thing to watch out for when you change brands of servos. Different brands turn in different directions with the same change in input pulse width so you may have to change the reverse switch in your transmitter to get the same reaction from the new servo.
Or just reprogram the servo in the reverse direction and be done with it.

Len Todd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 05:12 PM
  #5
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: servo

easier said than done
With the majority of servos it takes more than reprogramming
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:18 AM.