RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

FM or PCM Rx Help

Reply

Old 09-18-2003, 11:31 PM
  #1  
Luisito
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bolivar, TN
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM or PCM Rx Help

Hi guys: I am building a 29% AeroWork Edge 540 with a DA 50 on it. I will be using 5 Digital Hitec ( 5645 ) an one 225 ( non digital ), I want to know if I need a PCM RX, some people are using a FMA RX. The radio to be use is a Futaba 9c. Thank you for all the help.


Luis
Luisito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 05:50 AM
  #2  
FlyinBrian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NorthamptonNorthants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

It's your call really, if you do go for a PCM rx make sure you do set up the failsafe to at least make the motor go to idle - the default as supplied from the factory is HOLD ie all servos stay where they are.

Also some people prefer to check everything out with a standard PPM rx first to see if the motor ignition is causing inteference - do a range check like this and if aok put in the PCM rx.

Also be aware that failsafe on a 9C (assuming thats the same s/w as used in the UK version designated FF9) does not become functional until two minutes following the switch on of Tx and Rx

Good Luck
FlyinBrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 07:59 AM
  #3  
Luisito
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bolivar, TN
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

FlyinBrian, thank you for the info, I think is a good idea to do the range check with the PPM receiver but do I have to have a PCM receiver. And do you know any thing about the FMA receiver.



Luis
Luisito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 09:11 AM
  #4  
trailingedge
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
trailingedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leland, MS
Posts: 405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

Luisito

If you intend to use PCM functionality, you have to have a PCM receiver. Do a search on PCM vs FM as this subject has been debated ad nausium. Just for the record I like PCM though. I don't know anything about the FMA receivers, but I'm sure that a few guru's out there will respond with thier thoughts on it. Hope this helps.
trailingedge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 09:30 AM
  #5  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

You deffinately do not need PCM recievers. Even if you want to program failsafe.
You now have the possibily to do this with Multiplex IPD receiver, FMA has one also which seems better then any others, but with only 5 channels.

I put away all my PCM receivers some 3 years ago and never looked back.
Forgues Research is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:19 PM
  #6  
Luisito
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bolivar, TN
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

Thank you trailingedge for the info. I will do that search and see what i do find out.

Hi Roger this is Luis from TN, I got the engine standoff for the DA 50 from you, Thank you for the info. I just want to know if I really need a PCM rx.

Luis
Luisito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:43 PM
  #7  
Luisito
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bolivar, TN
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

I think what I want to know is, do I need PCM RX because I have digital servos?
Luisito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:20 PM
  #8  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

NO! PCM offers some distinct advantages, some suggest there disadvantages. The use of Analog and or Digitals servos is a null point...
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 07:19 AM
  #9  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

In Plain words, no you dont need PCM
Forgues Research is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 08:25 AM
  #10  
Luisito
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bolivar, TN
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FM or PCM Rx Help

Thank guys thats is all I want, And I think I will go with the PPM receiver.
Luisito is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service