RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Did this hurt my radio gear?

Reply

Old 09-20-2003, 02:34 PM
  #1  
Paul Cataldo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jonesboro, GA
Posts: 818
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Did this hurt my radio gear?

Guys,
I recently turned my Tx on, (Futaba 9C), while it was on PCM mode, but my planes Rx is on PPM. My servos started glitching like crazy, before I realized what I had done. I quickly turned my Tx off, and switched back over to PPM.
This happened, because I am setting up another plane on PCM, but I also fly a plane on PPM. Both receivers are channel 21, but one is PCM and one is PPM.
I did a range check, and everything seemed ok, but I was worried I may have damaged something. Thanks for any advice.
P.S. Servos were Hitec 56 and 5945mgs. THanks.
Paul Cataldo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 09:19 PM
  #2  
CurtD
My Feedback: (1)
 
CurtD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dallas, GA,
Posts: 335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Did this hurt my radio gear?

No, it won't damage your RX. It's possible a servo could have been driven to its stop and damaged but if everything checks ot ok, you're fine. Go fly!
CurtD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 09:38 PM
  #3  
edge_fanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 1,166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Did this hurt my radio gear?

ORIGINAL: Paul Cataldo

Guys,
I recently turned my Tx on, (Futaba 9C), while it was on PCM mode, but my planes Rx is on PPM. My servos started glitching like crazy, before I realized what I had done. I quickly turned my Tx off, and switched back over to PPM.
This happened, because I am setting up another plane on PCM, but I also fly a plane on PPM. Both receivers are channel 21, but one is PCM and one is PPM.
I did a range check, and everything seemed ok, but I was worried I may have damaged something. Thanks for any advice.
P.S. Servos were Hitec 56 and 5945mgs. THanks.
Nope...I've done that many times with no ill effects.
edge_fanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 01:06 AM
  #4  
Shortman
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Did this hurt my radio gear?

Happens a lot hehehe, that or I am not on the correct model and the controls are moving properly.


Steven
Shortman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 01:45 AM
  #5  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Did this hurt my radio gear?

Great way of burning in servo's =) You'll find the bad one's in a hurry doing that.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service