RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

Reply

Old 09-22-2003, 07:51 PM
  #1  
auto2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: chester, NY
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

where oh where does the crystal go in this radio?

I bought a second crystal set for my other car .
one goes in the reciever, and the other goes in the radio. but where?

rx87 and tx87?
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 08:37 PM
  #2  
cuguy27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

the 3pk'S tx crystal is embedded in the removable module for the radio near the top front. It is against many FCC rules to swap out the crystal, plus it is much wiser and safer to swap the whole module for a new channel as is recommended by Futaba. The modules are fully tuned to the new channel and besides, if you open the module (or remove the little black cover that gaurds it), the warranty is voided.

cuguy27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 08:47 PM
  #3  
auto2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: chester, NY
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

Ok thanks so the guy at the hobbie store is just wierd then.
I have 1 radio and 2 cars. I bought a second reciever and asked for a second crystal for the second reciever.( I don't use both cars at the same time)
I don't want to have to change crystals every time I change cars.
so how so I find out which crystal to buy?
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 09:56 PM
  #4  
flatfour
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 597
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

The channel number is right on the TJ module
flatfour is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 08:12 AM
  #5  
amcross
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tuscola, IL
Posts: 2,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

Auto,
You can buy a second crystal to match your transmitter or if you need a second channel then your best bet is to purchase a second module on the same channel as your second receiver crystal. Assuming your radio came via the US distributor, this information is covered in your manual. Hopefully this and lots of other information there will be helpful to you.
amcross is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 09:38 PM
  #6  
auto2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: chester, NY
Posts: 383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

Okdifferent info from different people but I get the gist of it now.
the crystal is behing a "door" on the module. LHS says he changes it all the time.
door sure doesn't look "user friendly" to me.
module says 66 75.510 mhz
the crystals I got say 75.930 mhz
will bring it to lhs store and get this all figured out.
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 11:04 PM
  #7  
KB9STD
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: futaba 3PK dummie crystal question

Auto...DON'T let the guy at the LHS change the crystal in your transmitter because he "Does it all the time".You said that it "Doesn't look user friendly",and it not supposed to be. It is against FCC regulations to change the transmitter crystal yourself, and in addition to the warranty it voids "Your authorization to operate the equipment".....as per the fCC(the radio cops).You can get a second "Module" for the transmitter(that's why the radio is designed to use "plug-in modules") or you can get a channel 66 crystal for the second cars receiver(it's OK to change the crystal in the receiver,and it WORKS! That may not be the case when changing a transmitter crystal.It certainly won't work at peak performance).

You will get lots of arguement to my comments here at RCU.Look at my username(and feel free to check it out in the FCC database).I'm a General class Amateur radio operator(Tested and Licenced),I know radio theory and operation.Your RC transmitter is a radio, and changing a transmitter crystal requires retuning the circuit for proper operation!
KB9STD is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service