Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 74 of 74

  1. #51
    ArcadeAir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    76
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks, Sidegates. I have watched these before, but now that I am actually setting things up, I forgot a lot of details. Ill look these over again now that it is fresh in my memory. Thank you for the link!
    48" Hobbyzone Super Cup (Electric)
    Quad Scratch Built
    65" Cessna 182 (Electric)
    50" SpadStik Scratch Built (Electric)
    ?????????????????????? (.09 Nitro)

    A few aerial videos of the Super Cub using a Mobius Wide Angle Cam
    http://youtu.be/kVQ8iuC6yQ0

    Please Like (If You Do)

  2. #52
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Sid,

    I’ve got to say, the fact that a person with your vast experience in the radio control industry and prominence in the RC community is using a FrSky Taranis gives me a lot of confidence that my Taranis purchase was the right thing to do. Now I just wish the FEDEX truck would arrive soon.

    Mike
    Last edited by 8178; 03-23-2015 at 02:23 PM.

  3. #53

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,290
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by 8178 View Post
    Sid,

    I’ve got to say, the fact that a person with your vast RC radio experience and prominence in the RC community is using a FrSky Taranis gives me a lot of confidence that my Taranis purchase was the right thing to do. Now I just wish the FEDEX truck would arrive soon.

    Mike
    ================================================== ================================================== ======================
    Mike - Thanks for the compliment. I and two long time flying friends ordered the Taranis about 9 months ago. Now there are approx. 8 more flying at Chatfield and 2 at Cherry Creek. One at Chatfield received a bad (short range) receiver and all the rest have been good. The dealer replaced the defective receiver right away. The only model I have that I have not tried the Taranis in is my turbine jet. Still working up to that. I have corresponded with a fellow in N.E. US who has flown his in his turbine models.

    I went with the Taranis primarily for the telemetry function.
    SidGates
    Web: http://www.sidgates.us

  4. #54
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    So far so good with my new Taranis Plus from Aloft Hobbies. Hope to fly it soon.

    Mike

  5. #55
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    How the wiring is done on the latest shipment of the Taranis Plus gimbal potentiometers along with potting compound on potentiometer connection.


    Mike
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC06510.JPG 
Views:	77 
Size:	146.7 KB 
ID:	2084491  
    Last edited by 8178; 03-27-2015 at 10:54 AM.

  6. #56
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Sid,

    I see in my AMA Model Aviation magazine that you have been inducted into the AMA Model Aviation hall of fame. Congratulations to you, and I cannot think of a more deserving person.


    Mike

  7. #57
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Having my Taranis Plus for only two weeks I’ve read where a few owners have had problems updating their firmware. It seemed worrisome; so I felt it would be smart to go slow and some carful research was in order.

    I just want to report that after studying the Open TX documentation and watching a number videos including Scott’s excellent information on the firmware upgrade, my 2.0.15 upgrade went very smoothly.

    Mike

  8. #58

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,290
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    [QUOTE=8178;12015308]Sid,

    I see in my AMA Model Aviation magazine that you have been inducted into the AMA Model Aviation hall of fame. Congratulations to you, and I cannot think of a more deserving person.
    ================================================== ===============


    Mike,
    Thanks for your notice and comment. I was awarded the Hall of Fame plaque at the Jan. meeting of the Denver R/C Eagles. The President of the Eagles, Jack Steinhauser, wrote a very complimentary bio for the occasion. A link to the bio is on this web page. http://www.sidgates.us/BIOS/AMA%20HOF%20PAGE%201.htm

    You seem to know me, I don't recognize Mike from Atlanta. Tell me more about yourself here or via direct email: sid@sidgates.us

    Sid
    SidGates
    Web: http://www.sidgates.us

  9. #59
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Sid,

    Email sent.

    Mike

  10. #60

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    palos park, IL
    Posts
    51
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I have a quick question on how to set up the throttle with my Taranis for a gas engine. I would like to know what is the best way to set the low end end point and also how to set an exponential curve from low to high. Thanks for any recommendations.

  11. #61

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,290
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by ron12901 View Post
    I have a quick question on how to set up the throttle with my Taranis for a gas engine. I would like to know what is the best way to set the low end end point and also how to set an exponential curve from low to high. Thanks for any recommendations.
    ================================================== ===========================================
    Ron,
    I will outline my method, others can add their ideas.
    I start with "Inputs" and "Mixers" set at 100% for throttle. I pick a hole on the servo arm or wheel that gives me as close to full travel on the carb as I can get. Next with the engine running I would fine tune the throttle "mixer" setting the give the idle I want and then fine tune the high end for full open carb.

    I haven't used the "curves" function yet but I think you could adjust the throttle channel for the throttle response you desire. I hope some else can help you there.
    Last edited by sidgates; 04-14-2015 at 07:02 PM.
    SidGates
    Web: http://www.sidgates.us

  12. #62
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Good explanation Sid. Also with OpenTX there are options on how the trim works with throttle. I have mine set so the trim only impacts the low end of the throttle travel.

    Mike

  13. #63

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,290
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by 8178 View Post
    Good explanation Sid. Also with OpenTX there are options on how the trim works with throttle. I have mine set so the trim only impacts the low end of the throttle travel.

    Mike
    =====================================
    Mike,
    Good reminder, I usually set mine for trim only at low throttle.
    Sid
    SidGates
    Web: http://www.sidgates.us

  14. #64
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    One on the guys on an other forum spent a lot of time on this chart https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxM...RUE/view?pli=1 that compares a number of Spektrum radios with Taranis. Interesting to see all the features lined up like this on a chart.

    Mike
    Last edited by 8178; 04-30-2015 at 03:34 AM.

  15. #65

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Fort Gibson, OK
    Posts
    553
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by 8178 View Post
    One on the guys on an other forum spent a lot of time on this chart https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxM...RUE/view?pli=1 that compares a number of Spektrum radios with Taranis. Interesting to see all the features lined up like this on a chart.

    Mike
    Mike,

    Great info. My buddy has a DX18 and I have the Taranis. We are always comparing functions. This make it much easier.
    Gaines

  16. #66
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by gsmith6879 View Post
    Mike,

    Great info. My buddy has a DX18 and I have the Taranis. We are always comparing functions. This make it much easier.
    Your buddy must feel very deprived and powerless!

    Mike

  17. #67

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Fort Gibson, OK
    Posts
    553
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by 8178 View Post
    Your buddy must feel very deprived and powerless!

    Mike
    Yea, he keeps looking at the price tags and wondering were he went wrong:-)
    Gaines

  18. #68
    What's up guys and gals.I am new to Rc'ing I am in the process of building my first multirotor and I am going to purchase a Taranis and X8R.I was just wondering where you guys recommend I get them?I was waiting for Aloft but they seem to be out of stock.I am looking for somewhere where they stand behind their customers.I was going to buy my stuff from HobbyKing but after how they handle technical assistance I am staying away from them.

  19. #69

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    854
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Service just doesn't get any better than Aloft. Send Wayne an email and ask him when they expect them to be back in stock.
    Jerry Neuberger
    L1324, HoF, LM, CD, Turbine sign-off CD, LMAI
    BUSA Brotherhood #30

  20. #70
    Yeah I contacted them last week and they told me Monday but it doesn't look like they are sure when they are coming in.They seem like really cool people but do you guys have any other suggestions?
    Last edited by siblues; 05-19-2016 at 04:20 PM.

  21. #71
    Hi there, I just bought a taranis x9e and am very excited to start using its tremendous capacity, but have run into a bit of a snag right out of the gate and am hoping to get some help here.

    I plugged in the radio to the wall using the provided charger and left it charging overnight. However, the battery charge light never stopped flashing, even after being charged all night. I verified that the battery is plugged in (it is). When I push the power button with the radio plugged in or not plugged in, nothing happens. I am trying to figure out if something is defective (charger, battery, or something else) of if I am doing something wrong. Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer.

  22. #72
    8178's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,323
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by pbratten View Post
    Hi there, I just bought a taranis x9e and am very excited to start using its tremendous capacity, but have run into a bit of a snag right out of the gate and am hoping to get some help here.

    I plugged in the radio to the wall using the provided charger and left it charging overnight. However, the battery charge light never stopped flashing, even after being charged all night. I verified that the battery is plugged in (it is). When I push the power button with the radio plugged in or not plugged in, nothing happens. I am trying to figure out if something is defective (charger, battery, or something else) of if I am doing something wrong. Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer.
    If the light is flashing it is not charging. It should flash less then a few min and then go solid green. When the light goes out it is fully charged. You are sure the battery is plugged in correctly? Do you have a volt meter that you could use to see if the battery has voltage?

    Mike
    Last edited by 8178; 03-16-2017 at 03:08 PM.

  23. #73
    I do, and I checked it--the battery has 1.2 v. That's after 10 hours of being plugged in to the power source. Seems like it's got to be the battery, the internal charger, or the charger itself. Here is ashot of the battery plugged in.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0156.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	34.4 KB 
ID:	2205583

  24. #74

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Need a little help with my voltage sensor setup. I have it reading the total voltage of my motor battery, a 4 cell. I would also like to read the lowest cell of the battery so I can determine when to land. I set this up in Special Functions as a Play Val of the Cels using a switch. This gives me the total Voltage only. From what I've read, there should be a "CEL" selection I could use that has the value of the lowest cell. The selection I have to choose from are: Cels, Cels+ and Cels-. None of them give me the value of the lowest cell. My radio is the QX7 and is my first FrSky radio. Receiver is X8R and X6R.


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RCU Reviews
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:07 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.