Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

RX/TX and FPV Beginner Question!?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 05:51 PM
Domino60

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RX/TX and FPV Beginner Question!?

Hi all,

I'm a new member on this website and as a RC airplane beginner I'd like to make few question about the Radio T/R Range and FPV Range.

I saw many videos and read a lot of info about how a airplane works and all the systems as a beginner my 1st airplane is a homemade Foam airplane which I'm building my own Rx/Tx system
so I wanna ask about the Antenna ranges.

I know that here is different types of antennas small and big dbi but there is a question that no one answered me till now so I hope you do.
As an example I have my ground Transmiter which i control the airplane and the airplane receiver both of them are 2dbi which give me a small range but what If i upgrade my ground antenna with a
Helix one and leave the airplane antenna the same. As you know the antenna from the airplane receive so for the ground antenna "Helix" which have a really long range (depend on the mW/W) will transmit without
problem but what about the FPV one? If we do the same thing.

Here is a video of a guy who did that:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUm3_e-Umhg&list=LLUNvg9PtBCzfdBN74TIoFFA&index=1 As I know the Transmiter on the FPV in on the airplane and it's only 200mW and on the ground he had a Parabolic Helix, how could he receive from that long range?
Here is where i don't understand, even if we got a small range transmiter and in the other way a huge range receiver the receiver can receive data from the transmiter?
Old 07-28-2015, 07:33 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

Antenna design has a lot to do with the range. Receiver antennas have a boost rating, which is how much improvement in reception they give you.