RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

airtonics stylus tx battery change to lipo TIPS?

Reply

Old 08-13-2015, 07:44 PM
  #1  
pancake
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: new egypt, NJ
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default airtronics stylus tx battery change to lipo TIPS?

anyone change out their airtronics stylus tx battery from NiCad to lipo. any tips/info would be appreciated.

Last edited by pancake; 08-14-2015 at 02:08 AM.
pancake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 01:41 PM
  #2  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You are foolish -why?
You will have to remove it to charge it.
You wii need a special charger.
You will have to watch the battery while you charge it.
You will need to put it into a fireproof container while you charge it.
If your TX does not have an automatic shut off and you forget to shut it off you will ruin the battery and maybe your tx.
What do you gain? Slow self discharge ? You can get the same thing with Eneloops and use your built in charger.
Cheaper? well maybe but if you lose your tx it wont be so cheap.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 04:41 PM
  #3  
pancake
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: new egypt, NJ
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

next
pancake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 02:30 AM
  #4  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

agree with Dirtybird, 100%. But ask Airtronics, why post that question here...
Steve Percifield is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 09:20 AM
  #5  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thread that I came across a few years back and is a long read, but some may find interesting ...Safe way to use 3S LiPo in transmitter?

For the past few years I've been using a LiPo 3S spare pack I had, because the NiMh batteries were
always drained when I went to turn on my Tx. . After I see that it's not holding up in performance, I'll probably switch to some low discharge batteries. If you must do it, I would only use a low C rated pack and have a maximum charge of 3.85v/cell or whatever your charger's storage voltage is. My radio's low voltage alarm goes off @ 9.6v, and is annoyingly loud IF I should forget to turn off the transmitter.


Yeah I know, I'm a bad person/dork/idiot.
RustyUs is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 01:24 PM
  #6  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The C rating has nothing to do with how hot the fire is.
I you really must have LIFE's in your tx(LIPO's are actually LIFE's) get some Sony VTC4 or Sony VTC5's. You can get them from your local electronic cigarette store. You will have to make your own pack but they solder easily.
I am using them to fly small foamies. They are actually lighter than LIPO's for the same capacity.
You will have to remove them to charge but you don't have to watch them and they won't burn your house down if you forget to turn your TX off.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service