Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 14 of 14

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fremont , OH
    Posts
    463
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Spectrum Receiver connection wires

    Does anyone have experience lengthening the receiver connecting wires ? I need to go from 35" to 48". I know its not recommended by the mfg. but I believe glider pilots do it

    K.O.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    What do you mean by lengthening receiver connecting wires? Do you mean from the battery or ESC to the receiver or to the individual servos from the receiver? In either case, make sure that the material and size are adequate for the current demands. If you do that, you can do fairly long extensions. They do make extensions for servos that you can simply insert between the servos and receiver in several lengths. An easy way (if you can solder) is to just cut the existing wires in two and solder in whatever length of wire you need. This is more reliable than the extension leads as the connectors (especially if hidden and not exercised often) will corrode and cause problems later on. In short, the answer is YES you can do this if you use the proper material and techniques.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fremont , OH
    Posts
    463
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Rodney

    The wires I'm referring to are the wires that connect the remote receivers on Spectrum RX. In my case there are 4 remote receivers. I want place one near the tail of the plane.

    K.O.

  4. #4
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    4,529
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by K.O. View Post
    Rodney

    The wires I'm referring to are the wires that connect the remote receivers on Spectrum RX. In my case there are 4 remote receivers. I want place one near the tail of the plane.

    K.O.
    I don't think 48" is going to be a problem but I would suggest that you buy the antenna extensions which utilize a conventional servo lead for most of the length.
    Zeeb

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fremont , OH
    Posts
    463
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    For anyone interested I measured the resistance of a 36" extension wire and read .6 ohms. Then I soldered a 10" extension using the same kind of wire and remeasured. The reading was .9 ohms.
    Granted I basically doubled the resistance but I doubt that small of increase will have an effect on an RF signal. I'll do some further checking to compare fades with the other receivers.

    K.O.

  6. #6
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    4,529
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I guess I'm just curious why you came here and bothered people for advice, when you already had your mind made up about what you were going to do?
    Zeeb

  7. #7
    init4fun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2,859
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
    I guess I'm just curious why you came here and bothered people for advice, when you already had your mind made up about what you were going to do?
    Hi Zeeb ,

    I agree 100% with your question , why ask folks what should be done , only to do it some other , pre planned way instead ?

    As to extending the wires going to the satellite RXs ; If the manufacturer recommends no greater than 36" , they did so for a reason . Now unless I knew for fact what that reason was , and knew that it was for example they didn't want to make longer ones because of little demand VS something like a signal loss issue at the longer length , there is no way I'd take the gamble with my plane and go playing Engineer as though I knew more than the folks who designed and built the equipment . I would instead seek to locate all the electronics in such a way that no satellite needed to be further than 36" away from the main RX , even if that 3 feet doesn't represent as far as it could go , length of aircraft wise .
    Last edited by init4fun; 02-26-2017 at 07:20 AM.
    Happy Flying

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fremont , OH
    Posts
    463
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I don't understand the bother comments. I only asked for anyone with experience and its obvious you only have opinions. When you think about it most ideas and innovations come from the hobbyist. Most people accept what is and not what could be. If you know the Spectrum system the system will perform with only 3 satellite receivers therefore little chance of a problem if the 4th one. I also said I would do some further checking comparing fades to the other 3 receivers.

    Lastly not sure why the snide follow up remarks remarks. If you were so bothered and or had something positive to contribute you shouldn't have responded in the 1st place.

    K.O.

  9. #9
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    4,529
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by K.O. View Post
    I don't understand the bother comments. I only asked for anyone with experience and its obvious you only have opinions. When you think about it most ideas and innovations come from the hobbyist. Most people accept what is and not what could be. If you know the Spectrum system the system will perform with only 3 satellite receivers therefore little chance of a problem if the 4th one. I also said I would do some further checking comparing fades to the other 3 receivers.

    Lastly not sure why the snide follow up remarks remarks. If you were so bothered and or had something positive to contribute you shouldn't have responded in the 1st place.

    K.O.
    Well here is where you are wrong assuming that I do not know the Spektrum systems. First, by mentioning that you have four satellites or remotes as Spektrum prefers to call them now, that you have a PowerSafe rx of the older style.

    Second, higher channel count rx will function with only three receiving units be they remotes or built into the main unit and you must use the "A" port if you only use three, or it will not function. All the upper channel count rx's require three RF sections; some have two in the main unit, some only one and those must add the required remotes to make three total.

    Third, once turned on and linked, the system will function on only one RF unit until it is shut off as a safety feature.

    Fourth, while I cannot quote chapter and verse right now, IIRC the max length on a remote lead is 48" not 36". I suggested using the extension which splits in two halves allowing the use of a regular servo lead which has larger wires and thus less impedance.

    Bye the way, you spelled Spektrum wrong.
    Last edited by Zeeb; 02-26-2017 at 09:21 AM.
    Zeeb

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sterling, VA
    Posts
    1,124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by K.O. View Post
    I don't understand the bother comments. I only asked for anyone with experience and its obvious you only have opinions. When you think about it most ideas and innovations come from the hobbyist. Most people accept what is and not what could be. If you know the Spectrum system the system will perform with only 3 satellite receivers therefore little chance of a problem if the 4th one. I also said I would do some further checking comparing fades to the other 3 receivers.

    Lastly not sure why the snide follow up remarks remarks. If you were so bothered and or had something positive to contribute you shouldn't have responded in the 1st place.

    K.O.
    HI K.O., I have experience with Spektrum receivers and extension receivers but I have never needed to lengthen the connections between them.

    My suggestion would be to contact Spektrum or one of the techs at Horizon and see what they say. They would almost certainly know more about it than anyone on this website.
    RC Aircraft/ Three Laws Safe.

  11. #11
    Hi I have a quick question, I have a Spectrum receiver and Tactic servos, I am trying to make it where I can bind my Flyzone Sensei to my DX6 and the servo wires don't fit on the Spectrum receiver. Could anybody help me? Thanks!!!

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    White Heath, IL
    Posts
    2,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Do your servos have a little tab on them? If so, you clip the tab off and you might also need to bevel the corners. Those would be Futaba-style connectors, rather than the industry standard style.

    Andy
    Andy Kunz - AMA 46063
    Spektrum Development Team

  13. #13
    Thanks Andy, how best might I do that I was thinking sandpaper, would that be a bad idea?

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    White Heath, IL
    Posts
    2,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Most folks use dikes or a #11 blade to do everything.

    Andy
    Andy Kunz - AMA 46063
    Spektrum Development Team


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RCU Reviews
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:06 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.