RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Model matching

Reply
Old 03-01-2017, 05:22 PM
  #1
Cajuncharley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: South, LA,
Posts: 419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Model matching

Are there any rdio systems on the market with model matching? If so, which ones?

Thanks,

cajuncharley
Cajuncharley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 06:09 PM
  #2
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajuncharley View Post
Are there any rdio systems on the market with model matching? If so, which ones?

Thanks,

cajuncharley
Model Matching is a patented proprietary technology from Spektrum and older JR sets which have the Spektrum DSM2 or DSMX RF decks.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 08:47 PM
  #3
Cajuncharley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: South, LA,
Posts: 419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Zeeb: Many thanks,

cajuncharley
Cajuncharley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 03:26 AM
  #4
SAB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West of Scotland, UK
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

JR's Newer DMSS systems (eg XG series, 28X) also have model match.

Steve
SAB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 06:47 AM
  #5
Steve Percifield
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Grapner and Frsky have their versions.. Why do you need it?
Steve Percifield is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 02:47 AM
  #6
HarryC
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jeti warns you if the Rx you have switched on is not the one that was previously bound to that model memory.
Multiplex has a system where the Rx actually tells the Smart tx which model it is and changes the Tx to the correct memory for that model.
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 01:53 PM
  #7
krokodyl
 
krokodyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Spektrum have a patent on it, but I guess many brands found a way around it. I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the others will give you a warning but still connect, and you could still fly on the wrong model if you somehow missed the warning, while spektrum just won't connect at all.

It's useful, because people do sometimes forget to switch to the correct model.

Hubert
krokodyl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 03:37 PM
  #8
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krokodyl View Post
Spektrum have a patent on it, but I guess many brands found a way around it. I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the others will give you a warning but still connect, and you could still fly on the wrong model if you somehow missed the warning, while spektrum just won't connect at all.

It's useful, because people do sometimes forget to switch to the correct model.

Hubert
True, but then there are the "better" idiots that go and re-bind the model to the wrong model memory when it wouldn't connect, with inevitably bad results.
I've never seen it, but I've heard about it happening
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 04:38 PM
  #9
krokodyl
 
krokodyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well, Ok, if you do that.......


Hubert
krokodyl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 01:18 PM
  #10
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,963
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Make something fool proof and someone will invent a better fool
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 03:14 PM
  #11
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barracudahockey View Post
make something fool proof and someone will invent a better fool
lol....
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:30 PM.