RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

HV Servo Wire Gauge?

Reply

Old 08-16-2018, 09:26 PM
  #1  
time907356
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indian Land, SC
Posts: 110
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HV Servo Wire Gauge?

(Hopefully this won't double-post)
What is everyone using for HV servo leads ~4' long, or thereabouts? I have a spool of 26ga. which I use for 4.8V servos, but thought about upping that to 22ga. for the 8.4V. Thanks!
time907356 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 05:56 AM
  #2  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Current is what determines wire gauge, not voltage. How much current are your servos drawing?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 06:00 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Taildragger Rc, LLC has the best hd extensions around
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 11:52 AM
  #4  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 5,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I buy almost all of my extensions from MPI. They have 20g twisted wire in Futaba colors but not in JR colors. Those are only available in 22g flat wire. What do you need a 4' extension for? If it's a glider or such that's different than a large WarBird or a large IMAC type model since as Andy mentioned; current/amps is the real determining factor.

R/C Connectors (1 of 3)
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 11:53 AM
  #5  
RipTidez
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: York Pa
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Taildragger Rc agree..
RipTidez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 03:08 PM
  #6  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Which HV servo? A micro HV servo won't need 22awg wire like a standard size high torque HV servo.
Xpress is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service