Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Reload this Page >

Two motors, one plane, one motor starts slower than the other.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Two motors, one plane, one motor starts slower than the other.

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2018, 10:19 AM
cracker39

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Two motors, one plane, one motor starts slower than the other.

Have a problem. I am new to electrics and am building a twin motor plane. The wiring is as shown below, one battery powering two identical ESCs, each going to one motor. I have two new Exceed RC Rocket 3010-1700KV Brushless Motors. I set up a test using identical HobbyKing Skywalker 40A ESCs. One motor (#1) hesitates to start, but does start after the other motor (#2) has started. If I switch ESC #1 to motor #2 and vice versa, then motor #2 is the slow starting motor. I can switch the cables to the RX and nothing changes. So, it is in the ESCs, not the wiring.

OK. I now try an identical pair of Simon Emax 40A ESCs from my newly converted to electric seaplane and get the same results, escept that the slow starting motor hesitates longer than it did with the Skywalker ESCs. (I don't recall this problem happening with the seaplane). Again, swapping the ESCs on the motors, the slow motor follows the ESC.

Is it common for two identical brand/model ESCs to put out different amounts of power…or rather, at different rates? I have not yet put props on the motors and checked the RPMs of each to see if at a given speed they are turning the same RPMs. I guess that will be my next test if i can find my tach. If this is a know occurrence, then ordering another of either ESC to try to get matching results is probably a waste of time and money.