RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

need a new radio

Reply

Old 12-25-2018, 10:44 PM
  #1  
jeffp51
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pleasant Grove, UT
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default need a new radio

I have been out of the hobby for a couple of years, and I haven't bought a radio for several years before that. Last time I flew, transmitters had 9.6v nicad batteries. Now I try to buy a new radio, and they all have downgraded to 4 AA, with no option for charging. This seems like a horrible downgrade to me, especially when my cell phone and every other device I own is rechargeable. Are there any options out there for a 6-channel system with a rechargeable battery -- and while we are at it with a receiver -- and while we are really at it, also a receiver battery (I still like glow engines, not electric) -- oh, and all for something approaching a reasonable price?

I know this makes me a fossil, but that is what I am. I prefer to build my own planes, not buy foam from china
jeffp51 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 09:44 AM
  #2  
DaveHickey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , WI
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a couple of Futaba FHSS system (T6 and T10) that come set up for 4XAA batts
but have a plug in Batt tray. I just got a LiFe 1100mah, 2 cell receiver pack and plugged
It in. About $6 and recharges on the same charger I use for my flight batts.

On top of that the TX shows the batt voltage and warns me when the batt gets low. Nothing easier.

D.H.
DaveHickey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 11:01 AM
  #3  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 5,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by jeffp51 View Post
oh, and all for something approaching a reasonable price?
The first question is what do you consider a reasonable price? What are you intending to use it for e.g. how many channels and/or capabilities?

I know this makes me a fossil, but that is what I am. I prefer to build my own planes, not buy foam from china
You are really putting yourself in a box here. I strongly suggest that you check out the RTF and BNF options from Horizon which are almost all foam. There just isn't any significant demand for small wood kits anymore. Should you decide on something from Horizon, that would pretty much limit your tx choices.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 01:27 PM
  #4  
Stickslammer
 
Stickslammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My Spektrum 6 takes 4 AA alkaline batteries. They last a long time and I don`t need a charger. Just pop in 4 new ones. Or you can get the rechargeable cells. And buy a charger.
Stickslammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 07:37 PM
  #5  
c/f
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: evansville, IN
Posts: 803
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Graupner MZ24 HoTt , NOTHING comes close at this price............

https://hyperion-world.com/en/p1650520-gr-s1006m1


Graupner short list includes,

Model MATCH, per model setup, or GLOBAL BIND per model setup, Glider guys like this for multiple planes but one TX model setup
Voice Telemetry built in EVERY rx. Viewable TX screens and APPS
SD, MP3, Datalogging
Color Touch screen + buttons entry
Flight Control based recievers program thru radio touchcreen, 3axis aero, multis, FB helis ect.
SUM (D) (O) and downloads to latest trends. Powerbox, Jeti Spectrum, Fasst, Cortex,DJI Lightbridge
PC connectable Firmware updates TX/RX

Plug in Bluetooth / Bluetooth Headsets ** Optional

Been in Rc for 40+ years always flew higher end Pro class TX,

Kraft, ProLine, FutabaGold, Jr10X, Jr12X 2.4g, Futaba12Z 2.4g, And now Graupner, MZ24, MZ32, the future of rc is telemetry and smart controller rx, NOBODY is even close to offering all the gadgets under one roof and ON SCREEN programming of devices via TX ............ This is the fun you have to look forward to its still a blast...........
c/f is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 06:52 AM
  #6  
A. J. Clark
 
A. J. Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Craigville, IN
Posts: 425
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Theres plenty of 6ch radio with rechargeable batteries. When it comes to tx its best to buy the best for yourself . Its something you will use every time you fly so why not buy one that you can be happy with.
A. J. Clark is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 07:48 AM
  #7  
KCCraig
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lee\'s Summit, MO
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

followed the link to Hyperion, and looked at the Graupner TX. This looks like what I am looking for. Is this a China product? It is cheeper than Futaba but seems to have high end features.
I am replaceing a Futaba 6XA and all old servos are analog.
KCCraig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 04:00 AM
  #8  
Jim.Thompson
 
Jim.Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bellingen NSW Australia
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
...........................................
You are really putting yourself in a box here. I strongly suggest that you check out the RTF and BNF options from Horizon which are almost all foam. There just isn't any significant demand for small wood kits anymore. ...........................
Not at all!
Jeff does not mention kits. All he says is he prefers to build his planes not buy "foam from China".
Jim.Thompson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 02:01 PM
  #9  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 5,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Jim.Thompson View Post
Not at all!
Jeff does not mention kits. All he says is he prefers to build his planes not buy "foam from China".
And you consider assembling an ARF equivalent to building? Doesn't make any difference, he's not been online since he posted the question....
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 02:52 PM
  #10  
Jim.Thompson
 
Jim.Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bellingen NSW Australia
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
And you consider assembling an ARF equivalent to building? Doesn't make any difference, he's not been online since he posted the question....
Are we reading the same post Zeeb? Or have I missed something?
He also does not make any mention of ARF's?
????????????
Jim.Thompson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 04:27 PM
  #11  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,283
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
And you consider assembling an ARF equivalent to building? ....
I don't , , , building is WAY easier than assembling the average ARF ....

Why do I say this ? , , , When I build I do it right the first time , from the ground up , and have no built in mistakes to correct during the build/assembly . Assembling most ARFs requires at least several corrections for things not done right , by the time all the factory blunders are squared away , might as well have just gone and built one right the first time
init4fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 06:00 PM
  #12  
Jim.Thompson
 
Jim.Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bellingen NSW Australia
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by init4fun View Post
I don't , , , building is WAY easier than assembling the average ARF ....

Why do I say this ? , , , When I build I do it right the first time , from the ground up , and have no built in mistakes to correct during the build/assembly . Assembling most ARFs requires at least several corrections for things not done right , by the time all the factory blunders are squared away , might as well have just gone and built one right the first time
That is my conclusion too!
However, I cannot remember buying and assembling an ARF........ever. I have had enough to do with those of other flying buddies to know what your report above is often, if not always, the case.
Besides, I design most of what I build anyway.
Jim.Thompson is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service