RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Manual transfer of plane info from Futaba to Spektrum

Reply

Old 05-28-2019, 09:01 PM
  #1  
browntdb
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Manual transfer of plane info from Futaba to Spektrum

I am just back into RC flying after about 7 years. I am moving from the Futaba 9C to the Spektrum DX 9. What are the chances of my aircraft servo positions and rates and exponentials will react the same if I manually copy the airplane data from the Futaba to the Spektrum?

Thanks,

Terry
browntdb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 03:47 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

About 0, just about everything is backwards.

DX9 is easy, just setup your wing type, plug in the servos where it tells you, and set it up from scratch, you're going to do twice the work trying to avoid work.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 11:04 AM
  #3  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 5,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
DX9 is easy, just setup your wing type, plug in the servos where it tells you, and set it up from scratch, you're going to do twice the work trying to avoid work.
The programming on the DX9, or any other Spektrum radio, is much more intuitive than your old Futaba or really any other radio I've used. Just make SURE you select the correct wing/tail type in the initial setup because if you have to go back and change one of servos characteristics, it'll wipe out all subsequent programming and you'll have to start over. Trust me when I say that virtually ALL of us have learned that lesson..... lol

Also, be aware that the expo settings on the two brands are opposite.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 04:30 PM
  #4  
browntdb
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the excellent information.
Terry
browntdb is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service