Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Opinions

Old 09-29-2003, 09:56 PM
Miloh

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions

I'm somewhat old school in that I have never flown with a computer radio, I have been flying RC for several years but only basic 4 channel !QUOT!CHEAP!QUOT! radios.
I'm now building and flying some pretty nice airplanes and want one good computer radio to put them on. Probably will not be needing retracts but maybe flaps and smoke at some-point. And probably not more than 4 or 5 planes at any one time.
And what about digital servos....hell servos in general!! LOL, I Plan maybe a 27% or 30% edge or extra in the near future and have no idea what options are available from the standpoint of torque or speed and how to determine what I need.
If you had lets say $300.00 What setup would you buy?

Thanks, Miloh.
Old 09-29-2003, 10:07 PM
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Opinions

Miloh,

If your $300.00 budget is for just the transmitter, and you have negative shift receivers, then I would recommend the Futaba 9C. If are already flying JR, or positive shift receivers, then the JR 8103 is a good choice.

As you get into the larger planes the number of channels is not the sole reason to get a better radio. Larger models often times need more, and more elaborate, mixes to get their best performance. An example of this is my 29% Edge. It need a little down elevator mixed with the tnrottle for doing staight down lines. This down mix is not fun when landing as the plane really drops when you pull the throttle down. It also flies better with a higher than desirable for landing idle. With my Futaba 8U Super I can easily put these mixes on one switch that set things up properly for landing or for flying.
Old 09-29-2003, 10:20 PM
Miloh