Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

How about a cheesy rudder servo for excitement?

Old 09-29-2003, 11:18 PM
rustyrivet
My Feedback: (6)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default How about a cheesy rudder servo for excitement?

No fooling here with this question. I'm new to big birds, and want to know what you think of my reasoning:

Why put an expensive digital servo on the Big Bingo rudder. Can't I put a cheesy $39.99 high torque servo on there, and save the $50 bucks to buy a spinner or something else? Seems to me, as long as I put good digital servos on the elevators, and ailerons, thats all I need to get back home if the rudder servo goes broke on me? Right?

Now, I have never experienced a bad servo in flight, and don't know quite what they do when they go broke. I'm hoping you'll tell me they just kind of go limp against the wind? Hmmmm.....don't tell me when they break, they stay in full turn position, do they?? [X(] Don't think I'd want to try to land my plane that way!

SO, JUST WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENS DURING SERVO FAILURE? HAVE YOU GUYS HAD THE SERVOS FREEZE UP IN EXTREME POSITION? I don't want too much excitement!
Old 09-30-2003, 10:48 AM
RightThrust
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How about a cheesy rudder servo for excitement?

You get what you pay for my friend... If a digital servo fails with a good geartrain chances are it will look in any position but centered. Once you start using cheesy servos you begin to have a cheesy airplane. I don't know what else I can say about this...

-Kelly
Old 09-30-2003, 02:57 PM
causeitflies

Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts

You should be fine with a high torque servo. I can't remember the exact size and weight of the Big Bingo but unless you are seriously overpowering it you should be fine.