RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

Reply

Old 10-03-2003, 11:06 AM
  #1  
smchale
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

I can easily discharge then recharge my reciever packs, but how can i do this when charging the radio? Do i need to remove the battery from the radio to bypass the radio or is there some modification in the radio that needs to be done to allow this to happen? Thanks!!
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 11:13 AM
  #2  
ekrcflyer
Senior Member
 
ekrcflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NW of Chicago, IL
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

I am taking mine out of the radio fro cycling. It's not that difficult at all and much safer, than trying to bypass a blocking diode (this by the way will cancell your radio's warranty).
I just got my Accu-Cycle Plus from Hobbico. It seems like you can do Tx cycling with this one without taking the battery out, but I have not tried this function yet.
ekrcflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 11:35 AM
  #3  
smchale
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

I think you're right about removing the battery...i'll look into that. I have the hobbico acu-cyle (not the plus) and have not been able to figure out how to cycle the tx pack...just the rx pack. thanks for your response!!
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 07:18 PM
  #4  
AJF--2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

CHECK YOUR PACK. MANY (IF NOT MOST) of the new trans packs are NiMah which do not need cycling-- It is the NiCad packs that work better with cycling.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 11:44 PM
  #5  
BigBird1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 796
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

Just a suggestion...
I've done this to all of my Tx packs...

Remove the battery pack, separate the + and the - wires at a convenient location,
clip the leads, solder in a extra plug the will fit you're favorite charger, clean the joints, cover with heat shrink..
Now you can cycle the pack without unplugging and removing the battery from the Tx and haven't jumped the diode and voided the guarantee.
BigBird1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 05:53 AM
  #6  
Xairflyer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,748
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

I would go with BigBird, adding in a seperate lead for cycling is the best option, then you don't leave yourself open to reverse charging if you remove the diode like I did some time back.

I have been building battery packs, chargers, cyclers for years and thought I never could make the mistake of reverse charging a battery pack.
Until recently I went to charge a JR radio that had not been used for along time.
I had forgot that I had converted it to centre positive and removed the diode, I even had a label on the charge socket saying centre positive but never noticed it.

Anyway I have now done what BigBird has suggested and added in an extra lead.
Lesson learned. !!

If you are anyway handy with a soldering Iron I have a couple of circuits of Dischargers you can make yourself.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 08:44 AM
  #7  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

Another vote for removing the pack. If you have a Futaba 9C, you can discharge the pack in the radio.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:55 AM
  #8  
ekrcflyer
Senior Member
 
ekrcflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NW of Chicago, IL
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

OK. Now it is official.
Over weekend I tried to cycle my Tx battery without taking it out of the radio with my AccyCycle - DOES NOT work.

I "kinda,sorta" like BigBird's idea, however I should say - be careful with this approach, because this is "going around blocking diode" approach without actually fooling with the diode itself. Just make sure to double check polarity before turning on power on your charger.
ekrcflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 05:46 PM
  #9  
Xairflyer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,748
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

It dos'nt matter what they say you can't cycle a transmitter battery in the radio if it has a diode to prevent reverse polarity.

I suggest you remove the battery and or add a lead like suggested.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 08:27 AM
  #10  
smchale
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

Thanks guys, good suggestion with the leads!!!!
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 09:33 PM
  #11  
AirBearMA
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Attleboro, MA
Posts: 225
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

I usually remove the battery to cycle and recharge my transmitter battery.
AirBearMA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 02:18 PM
  #12  
hilleyja
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 2,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do I cycle my transmitter batteries?

You are limited to only a few options:

1) If your TX has a diode installed for polarity safety (some don't like the Futaba 9C) you are limited to:

a) Bypassing the diode -- probably invalidates your warrantee but Sirius provides instructions for virtually all TXs.

b) Splice another connector to the battery and feed it out of the case -- this is virtually the same as bypassing the diode; if you incorrectly connect the charger you can short out the battery and/or fry your TX circuitry.

c) Remove the battery from the TX -- problem here is eventual damage to the connector from pulling on it during removal. (I do this and I am concerned about this)
hilleyja is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service