RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Profi 4000 Programming

Reply

Old 10-06-2003, 06:06 PM
  #1  
jtholley03
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kelso, WA
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Profi 4000 Programming

Ok

Using the throttle trim as

Up: flying idle

Middle: landing idle

Down: kill

Where do I do this?
jtholley03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:25 PM
  #2  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Profi 4000 Programming

Using the throttle trim as

Up: flying idle

Middle: landing idle

Down: kill

Where do I do this?
Simply add more trim authority on the trim lever through the program.

Roger
Forgues Research is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 02:36 AM
  #3  
radray
Senior Member
 
radray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Profi 4000 Programming

You may also consider using a 3-position switch, which would allow fine tuning of the throttle with the trim lever and even disabling the throttle stick at the kill position if you like. I have experimented with converting the throttle control to flaperon/spoileron control when in the engine kill position.
radray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 02:49 AM
  #4  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Profi 4000 Programming

What’s wrong with the standard method? In menu 1, servo, travel, you should have a default travel of 72%. Adjust the value to make the engine stop when trim is fully back, then on most engines you get the desired effect at mid and forward trim.

If you need more precision use a 7 or 9 point curve (I can’t remember which it is) because travel points 1, 2 and 3 correspond to the three trim positions when the stick is fully back and therefore the engine revs can be set precisely.

For a throttle kill switch go menu 1, control, throttle, fixed value, set to 0% and set the desired switch.

Harry
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 11:52 AM
  #5  
radray
Senior Member
 
radray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Profi 4000 Programming

Harry,

Nothing at all wrong with using the trim lever, I just find it is easier to reach the outside 3-position switch than an inside trim lever when flying and the switch takes care of all engine trim conditions.

Ray
radray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 03:25 PM
  #6  
jtholley03
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kelso, WA
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Profi 4000 Programming

I was just trying to find an exact setting for each. Kill is obviously the bottom. But rather than full up being an approximated flying idle and something in the middle be approx landing idle. Switch idea is good in that you could set an exact servo position - hadn't thought about that one. I was trying to make the slider act as a switch I suppose.

Thx I will mess with this weekend.
jtholley03 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service