RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

UK-US compatability

Reply

Old 10-11-2003, 12:17 PM
  #1  
shupack
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BROOKLYN, NY
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default UK-US compatability

I have a UK spec Futaba sky sport 6 radio, I'll be moving to the states in january...will my radio work in the states? are the frequency bands the same? i've heard yes and no. I have no emotional attachement to this radio so I can sell it before I go with no problems, but do I need to?
shupack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 12:49 PM
  #2  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: UK-US compatability

The frequency requirements are different. In the USA you are limited for aircraft to 72MHZ band (some 50 plus channels), 5 27 MHZ channels which can have severe interferance problems from CBers and the Ameature Radio if you have a valic HAM license--usually in the 50MHZ regions. If you are using surface vehicles, you have a large choice in the 75MHZ band and again the HAM bands if you have a valid HAM license. You have a good excuse to sell you equipment and start out with some brand new stuff, take it.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 03:54 PM
  #3  
shupack
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BROOKLYN, NY
Posts: 373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: UK-US compatability

fair enough, thanks
shupack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 07:57 PM
  #4  
Mac_Man_UK
Senior Member
 
Mac_Man_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Slough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: UK-US compatability

Shupack,

One important question is.... is it a plug in module ? If so, then all you will need to do is buy the US Tx Module when you get over there.

Also remember that it is an FCC requirement that you have to send the transmitter in for channel changes unless you hold a Radio Am licence.

( All I can say is thank god we dont have that crazy regulation over here !!! I would have my work cut out !!! )


Mac_Man_UK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 03:29 AM
  #5  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: UK-US compatability

Hi,

And what about the funny negative shift that is only to be found in North America on Futaba (and Hitec) radios and nowhere else in the world?

I guess this negative shift thing is created in the HF-part.
So if you buy a Futaba in the U.S., you will not be able to use it with receivers bought in the rest of the world...
Perhaps if you buy a Futaba with separate HF-module in the U.S. (negative shift), then buying another HF-module somewhere else in the world would bring you back to positive shift, but this has to be confirmed by specialists on this forum.

Just know that the Hitec Eclipse is fitted with a shift-selectable software. Could be easy in your case.

Happy searching...
Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service