RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

What channel for second Transmitter?

Reply

Old 10-12-2003, 06:57 PM
  #1  
GPS
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What channel for second Transmitter?

I recently bought a bunch of used gear including a JR transmitter (622), 4 receivers, and lots of servos. I am a newbie trying to learn to fly and my instructor suggested a buddy box (our club doesn't have any buddy boxes, and no one else flies JR). I also want to get a small receiver and servos to use in park flyers. Checking prices I've found that a buddy box, separate small receiver and servos is more expensive than a new complete JR system (Quattro 4 with 610 receiver and 2x241 servos). So I'm planning on getting a new radio system (I might spring for the next model up to get a few more features).

Should I get the new system on the same channel as the old one (Ch 50) so I can use any of the receivers on either transmitter? If not, can I swap the receiver crystals around?
(NB: Our club is small, so usually no problem with having more than one person on the same channel)
GPS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 08:09 PM
  #2  
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What channel for second Transmitter?

If you do not think you will want to use both transmitters at the same time then get the new one of the old one's channel. Less hassle and you can use any of your receivers with either transmitter. Here is the US we are not supposed to change the channel of the transmitter, but it is legal to change the receiver channel. You should ask around to see if Canada is any different...
GalenB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 01:48 AM
  #3  
4*60
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What channel for second Transmitter?

I would go with the same channel if possible. Keeps things simple.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 11:31 AM
  #4  
visioneer_one
My Feedback: (506)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Thomas, VIRGIN ISLANDS (USA)
Posts: 2,428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What channel for second Transmitter?

Definitely stick with one channel for simplicity.

I cringe when guys have to flip their radio over and read the sticker in response to the "hey what channel you on" question.
visioneer_one is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service