Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Radio equipment in store bought rc vehicles?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2003, 06:24 PM
DilbertRC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio equipment in store bought rc vehicles?

I want to work on someday building my own rc copter and I know how difficult this will be so I want to start with rc cars. I have been doing some reading and I understand that I will need the transmitter, receiver, and servos as a basic package.

Before I spend the money on that I want to experiment with something cheaper. Can you buy a cheaper rc vehicle from a store and gut it for the components? I mean things like the controller, and I suppose it will have the receiver and motors inside the body.

My ultimate goal is miniature flight and indoor flying copters. I am an electrical engineer major in school but I havent started taking classes for my major yet, only basic courses (The boring ones [&o]) I have quite a some experience with programming (C++ and basic) but I am not sure if this will even be required unless I want it to do something more specialized with custom features.

So can you use the cheaper equipement out of a store bought rc vehicle to start experimenting with?

Thanks
Old 10-19-2003, 06:51 PM
Jim Finn
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Radio equipment in store bought rc vehicles?

The short answer is...NO! Different transmitters and receivers and servos are used in cars than in Heli or planes. It is the law. ( The servos maybe for a plane from a car.) Not a heli. The law does not allow you to use a car radio system on anything that flies and visa-versa. A local hobby shop should ber abel to explain this to you. A flying club is the best place to get info. I suggest you search for one in your area.
Old 10-19-2003, 07:21 PM
DilbertRC

Thanks for the reply.