RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Servo?

Reply

Old 04-02-2004, 03:46 PM
  #1  
KW_Counter
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake County, CA
Posts: 1,555
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Servo?

Hi,
Does anyone make a dual servo?
By this I mean two servos in one over sized box.
This could be useful for setting up ailerons, especially modifying an ARF, so you can do flaperons.
One large servo being easier to mount than two.
Also could use it when running flaps with ailerons. One dual servo for each side of the wing.
Just an idea that I thought would make sense. Maybe one of the manufacturers could comment on this.
Thanks,
KW_Counter
KW_Counter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 04:08 PM
  #2  
Montague
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Laurel, MD,
Posts: 4,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Servo?

Many years ago Kraft (I think) made a "brick" that had the RX and a couple of servos all in one big box.

I've never seen anything like what you're talking about though.

I have seen guys widen or otherwise modify the opening in the center of the wing, use servo tape to stick two servos togther, and mount two smaller servos together where one larger servo should be to drive torque rod style aileron linkages so they could set up flaperons. It's easy enough to do. You do need to trim some arms off of the servos so they don't interfere with each other.
Montague is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:07 PM
  #3  
radray
Senior Member
 
radray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Servo?

Multiplex makes a brick 7 channel receiver and 2 servos and switch in one unit:
http://www.ss16.dial.pipex.com/Multi...vers/Brick.htm
radray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 01:16 AM
  #4  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Servo?

yup
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:41 AM
  #5  
KW_Counter
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake County, CA
Posts: 1,555
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Servo?

Hi,
That is some very interesting info, thanks to all. I see some neat concepts there. They mentioned the units are primarily for gliders and I'm a glow man myself.
In reading it they mentioned different height servo arms to prevent collisions of the two. Is this a readily available item - even by other manufacturers?
Thanks,
KW_Counter
KW_Counter is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service