RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Airtronics M8 Fuse size ???

Reply

Old 04-13-2004, 09:01 AM
  #1  
st_gubala
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Airtronics M8 Fuse size ???

My M8 stopped working and I have located the surface mount micro fuse inside it. But I can'decipher the markings.

Its a white surface mount fuse labeled 12. If anyone knows what size this is or has a contact at Airtronics I'd love to fix this and get back on the road this spring without having to send it in for repair.

Just for reference I jumper-ed around it with a 40 mA fuse and amp meter and the radio came on and everything works.

The small red circle in the upper right is the location for the fuse.

Steve G
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22623.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	121777  
st_gubala is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:27 PM
  #2  
st_gubala
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics M8 Fuse size ???

Airtronics product support replied to my email and informed me that it is a 1 amp fuse.

I was unable to locate a 1 amp surface mount but it was removed and the following repair effected...

1) Small wire leads soldered to ends of a standard glass fuse.
2) heat shrinked.
3) Removed damaged micro fuse
4) Soldered leads to contacts
5) Installed with a dab of hot glue to the pcb away from other components.


The radio fired up with no issues and all appears to be in good health.

NOTES:
1) I do not recommend that you power up the radio the way I had it in the picture. It is possible to get the RF module off by a pin or two.
2) This does require a pretty fine touch with a soldering iron. Surface mount components can be tought to remove without pulling the pad off the board. Be carful and go slow. If you don't think you have the skills chances are you don't. But it is easy enough to jumper arround the fuse to see if your radio is dead or the fuse is blown...

Good Luck. Pleaes let me know if this saves anyone elses radio.

Steve G
st_gubala is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service