RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba Buddy Box?

Reply

Old 05-19-2003, 08:06 PM
  #1  
lilhog
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba Buddy Box?

Hi All,
I need to get a buddy box before I take the plane up, however, according to the tower tech notes, I cannot put a buddy box to my radio, I need another 6X series radio. Am I reading this correctly and if so, what would we recomend so that I can have a buddy box set up? I have a Futaba T6XHs radio. I've included the linkto the Tower page for the buddy box - http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLV14&P=7

Thanks for any info,
John
lilhog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 12:45 AM
  #2  
FHHuber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: gone,
Posts: 4,923
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba Buddy Box?

Running the radio in PCM mode? If so, then you must use another PCM radio for the buddy box. If in PPM (normal FM) mode, then it will work with a standard trainer box. (or any buddy box capable FM TX)

Note that you can buddy box interface with older PCM radios.

What happens is the signal encoder section is the portion of the TX which sends infrmation through the buddy box cord. So... if you plug a PPM radio in as the buddy box, then even if the master TX is in PCM mode... it'll output a PPM signal when you hold the trainer button. The PCM RX will not understand the signal at all.

The RF section of the PCM and PPM radios are the same.
FHHuber is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service