RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

9C Mixing question

Reply

Old 06-12-2004, 12:27 PM
  #1  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 9C Mixing question

I have my set up my 9C for my Ultra Stick as per the FAQ on Futaba' site. When I set up the Rudder to Aileron mix as the FAQ describes, only the left aileron moves when the rudder is deflected. Does this mean there is something wrong with my flaperon settings?

Thanks for your help!
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 12:37 PM
  #2  
Josey Wales
Senior Member
My Feedback: (61)
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Im sure theres an easier way but you can set up another mix with the second aileron servo and then assign both mixes to same switch
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 04:41 PM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

I am assuming that you are using flapperons.
Make sure the link setting is ON.


ORIGINAL: David_Moen

I have my set up my 9C for my Ultra Stick as per the FAQ on Futaba' site. When I set up the Rudder to Aileron mix as the FAQ describes, only the left aileron moves when the rudder is deflected. Does this mean there is something wrong with my flaperon settings?

Thanks for your help!
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 05:50 PM
  #4  
Henry_90lx
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B, FL
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Here is a post I made earlier concerning the programing setup for an ultrastick.

Its about a 1/4 of the way down

This set up works real well.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/9CAP...1399338/tm.htm

Henry
Henry_90lx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 05:57 PM
  #5  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

If you have two aileron servos on separate channels, which are obviously mixed, make sure THAT mix has "LINK" mode turned "ON."
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 10:03 PM
  #6  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Is there a "LINK' setting on the flaperon screen, or on the PMIX screen?
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 01:40 AM
  #7  
fiveoboy01
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
fiveoboy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waunakee, WI
Posts: 641
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Dave,

It's on the mix screen.
fiveoboy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 02:03 AM
  #8  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

It is on the screen for the PMix that you are using for the Rudder/Aileron Mix


ORIGINAL: David_Moen
Is there a "LINK' setting on the flaperon screen, or on the PMIX screen?
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 11:34 PM
  #9  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Excuse my ignorance on the topic, but what does the "link" selection do? What gets "linked"? Is it an automatic selection or do I have to tell the radio what other channel gets linked to the mix?
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 10:15 AM
  #10  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Enabling the "Link" function within a particular mix allows that mix to operate other mixes.

For example:

Create a mix from channel 6 to channel 2 (mixing flaps to elevator)
Create a mix from channel 2 to channel 8 (for a second elevator servo)

On the 6-2 mix, if you leave the "Link" disabled, the 6-2 mix will cause the flap switch to operate the elevator servo connected to channel 2 only; the servo plugged into channel 8 will not move (with the flap switch). If you enable the 6-2 mix "Link" function, the flap switch will cause servos plugged into both channels 2 and 8 to move.
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 10:20 AM
  #11  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

-
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 10:53 AM
  #12  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

This is one of the best explanations for the link setting.
Also, depending on your prior mixes and their location, the link option may/may not be present.
It is weird how futaba implimented this part of the software code.


ORIGINAL: mulligan

Enabling the "Link" function within a particular mix allows that mix to operate other mixes.

For example:

Create a mix from channel 6 to channel 2 (mixing flaps to elevator)
Create a mix from channel 2 to channel 8 (for a second elevator servo)

On the 6-2 mix, if you leave the "Link" disabled, the 6-2 mix will cause the flap switch to operate the elevator servo connected to channel 2 only; the servo plugged into channel 8 will not move (with the flap switch). If you enable the 6-2 mix "Link" function, the flap switch will cause servos plugged into both channels 2 and 8 to move.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 11:10 AM
  #13  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

That makes sense! Too bad they just didn't give the option of having multiple slave channels, then you wouldn't need to use up two mixes to acheive one action. I'll have to move things around a bit on my radio, I only have one of the linear mixes left to use, I guess I could put both rudder/aileron mixes on the "curve" mixes, that will just force me to figure out how to use those too!
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 11:13 AM
  #14  
DocYates
My Feedback: (102)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 3,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Can anyone here help me set up an engine kill switch using the trainer switch?
Tommy
DocYates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:45 PM
  #15  
fiveoboy01
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
fiveoboy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waunakee, WI
Posts: 641
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

Tommy,

Just use the THR-CUT in the Basic Acro menu. You can then assign the Trainer switch to cut the throttle when you activate it. I'll go through it step by step for you:

-Tie the airplane down and get the engine running. Find a reliable idle with the throttle stick all the way down. You can adjust the endpoint for the throttle servo to do this.
-Now(with engine still running), go into the basic acro menu, turn the wheel to THR-CUT.
-Press the wheel down, and the THR-CUT screen comes up.
-Cursor down to SW(Switch), and turn the wheel till you get to the trainer switch(F).
-Cursor down to POSI(position). Turn the wheel to DOWN. This will activate the throttle cut only when you hold the trainer switch against its spring-loaded position.
-Now, cursor back up to RATE.
-Hold the trainer switch with one finger, and turn the wheel to change the RATE percentage. Keep turning the wheel until the engine dies.
-Exit the menu.
-Start the engine back up, and at idle, flip the trainer switch. The engine should die. IF it doesn't die right away or sputters, go back into the THR-CUT and turn up the RATE percentage some more, and try it again. Do that until the engine cuts off reliably when you flip the trainer switch.
fiveoboy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:55 PM
  #16  
DocYates
My Feedback: (102)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 3,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

That is what I am looking for, Thanks so much.
Tommy
DocYates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 02:44 PM
  #17  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

ORIGINAL: David_Moen

That makes sense! Too bad they just didn't give the option of having multiple slave channels, then you wouldn't need to use up two mixes to acheive one action. I'll have to move things around a bit on my radio, I only have one of the linear mixes left to use, I guess I could put both rudder/aileron mixes on the "curve" mixes, that will just force me to figure out how to use those too!
Something here doesn't seem right...

You don't need two mixes to acheive one action. You have two actions: 1) you are using flapersons, which is a single pre-mix that allows two servos to control two surfaces as flaps and ailerons, and 2) you need a single rudder-to-aileron PMIX to cause rudder input to actuate the ailerons.

I'm not sure what you mean by "both rudder/aileron" mixes- you only need one, but you need to turn "on" the "link" function.
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 07:50 PM
  #18  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

This sounds like 2 mixes to me!

ORIGINAL: mulligan

Enabling the "Link" function within a particular mix allows that mix to operate other mixes.

For example:

Create a mix from channel 6 to channel 2 (mixing flaps to elevator)
Create a mix from channel 2 to channel 8 (for a second elevator servo)

On the 6-2 mix, if you leave the "Link" disabled, the 6-2 mix will cause the flap switch to operate the elevator servo connected to channel 2 only; the servo plugged into channel 8 will not move (with the flap switch). If you enable the 6-2 mix "Link" function, the flap switch will cause servos plugged into both channels 2 and 8 to move.
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 08:16 PM
  #19  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

I guess I misunderstood you when you said two rudder/aileron mixes and referred to one action.
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 08:37 PM
  #20  
David_Moen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

I guess I mean "one action" as in a roll command (executed by both ailerons) resultng from a movement of the rudder.
David_Moen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 05:34 AM
  #21  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9C Mixing question

The mix for the channel 2/8 servo link is called ailevator and it is a defined mix.
The intent of the question is accurate even though there is more than one way to do it with the 9C
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service