RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

Reply

Old 06-15-2004, 02:21 PM
  #1  
DLDude
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

My plane was in a crash a few months ago, and i'm moving my electronics over. Everything is going along fine, but when i move my receiver (Jolt it, or shake it at all), the servos twitch (Not too badly, but sometimes it makes them go full tilt). Should i just pack it with foam, or is there something wrong with the receiver?
DLDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:21 PM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

It sounds like the crystal or crystal filter are damaged from the crash. It sounds like you will need to send it in for service. I would not recommend flying it as is.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:27 PM
  #3  
DLDude
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

I actually have already swapped crystals, so i know the actualy crystal isnt broken. Maybe it is the wiring? I opened it up after the crash and everything was still in place. I'll go fiddle with it.




While i'm asking, where can i get cheap Rxs? Ebay has a few for about 50$. I just need 4 channels. Since i'm using a Hitec Focus 4, is it possible to use a Futaba Rx? Thanks
DLDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:31 PM
  #4  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

In that case it is likely the crystal filter. You will need to send it in for service to get it repaired.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:56 PM
  #5  
DLDude
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

Hm.. i guess i'm just afraid to ask this... but how do i send it in. I bought a Tiger Trainer probably 4-5 years ago, and have probably lost the recipt [:@] I'm guessing i could send into to Hitec for a fee, but would that be less than buying a new receiver for 45-50$?
DLDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:59 PM
  #6  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

If it is a Hitec receiver you would need to send it to Hitec. If it is cost effective depends on the true extent of the damage. If it is a Hitec receiver, you might want to check with Mike on the Hitec manufacturers sub forum here on RCU or give them a call. Perhaps they can provide you with further information.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 09:44 AM
  #7  
hilleyja
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 2,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

Hitec is know for their excellant service. If you send it to Hitec, just box it up and insert a note describing your problem. You don't have to tell them it was probably caused by a crash; they may just repair it for free. Of course, if they subsequently ask you if it had been in a crash don't lie to them.
hilleyja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 04:03 PM
  #8  
GarbMan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jonesborough, TN
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

Futaba has something about this at thier FAQ. Sometimes when your too close the TX will overpower the RX and cause this. It can also happen when you turn on RX first or turn off your TX first. You probably already know this.
GarbMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 04:52 PM
  #9  
JNorton
My Feedback: (2)
 
JNorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coopersville, MI
Posts: 4,326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reveiver causing servos to twitch?

It has been in a crash. It is not right, it is sensitive to vibration. Send it in or buy another. You do not want to lose a plane over a $60.00 receiver!

John
JNorton is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service