RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

wall power for tx w/ sim

Reply

Old 06-27-2004, 01:08 PM
  #1  
PencilShavings
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: fairport, NY
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default wall power for tx w/ sim

im getting a sim soon, aerofly, and i will be using a spare old transmitter i have, it is still in perfect working condition so i dont want to abuse it all..

its an airtronics vg6dr transmitter..i have a spare wall charger so i put a battery plug on the wall charger transmitter end.

i plugged it in and tried it and the voltage gets about a 3 out of 8 on the analog meter, which should work for a sim...the wall charger seems to only be putting out ~7v so thats the problem there, plus its only a 75mah max current..

anyway my question is..should i take out the crystal or module or something to keep it from heating up?..ive heard it can sometimes be a problem on some radios to have it on for a long time, especially with the antenna collapsed.

thanks
dan
PencilShavings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 02:17 PM
  #2  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wall power for tx w/ sim

the rf module is probably sucking more current than the rest of the radio, yank it! and yes it can be harmed if used without antenna.

if you still don't have enough power then find any old 12v wallwart with a higher current rating or tap into your pc power supply...


dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service