RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Connecting the 4 ail servos of GP Pitts

Reply

Old 07-04-2004, 08:05 PM
  #1  
Marcos_Nieto
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Puerto La CruzAnzoategui, VENEZUELA
Posts: 101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Connecting the 4 ail servos of GP Pitts

Hi guys.............I´m almost done with my first big plane project a GP Pitts 1/3 scale. This plane has four (4) operative ailerons and I plan to connect the aileron servos using two Y-harness; one for the two right ailerons connected to ch. 1 and the other for the two left ail. connected to ch.7 on my 9-C Futaba radio receiver. Is there any other configuration that will give more flexibility allowing trim of each ail. servos independently??
Any suggestion is welcome....
Thanks

Marcos
Marcos_Nieto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 08:46 PM
  #2  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Connecting the 4 ail servos of GP Pitts

I connected the top wing with a Y Left and Right.
Bottom wing with a Y left and right.
You dont want to many things coming down from the top wing.
I have found that it did not need any trimming assuming you take the time to set up each wing.
i think you will be hard pressed to seperate out each servo with 7 channels.
Just watch out for landings as Itl will grab you in the you know where if you go to slow !!!!
Panzlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 11:09 AM
  #3  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Connecting the 4 ail servos of GP Pitts

You can connect one wings ailerons using the flaperon set up plugging one aileron into channel 1 and the other into the channel called out in the book for that connection. Then connect the ailerons on the other wing to a channel for each servo and mix that channel to channel 1. (you can mix more than one channel to the same channel). You will have used 4 channels for the ailerons and each one can be trimmed independantly of the other while the system is not flying the airplane. This is a complex set up and may take a bit of working with the system to get it to do what you want without other problems.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service