RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

transmitters

Reply

Old 07-14-2004, 12:10 AM
  #1  
flying wood
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

In order to use a dual conversion receiver do I need any specific type of transmitter?

Can any one recomend a 6 channel reciever with quality elevon mixing (I have a Viper Twin which is a flying wing)

Thank you
Tim
flying wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 10:22 AM
  #2  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Dual conversion\single conversion are different Rx filtering methods and have nothing to do with the TX. The Tx does not care what type of filtering the Rx uses.

The Rx crystal is a different matter however. A single conversion Rx must use a single conversion crystal and a dual conversion Rx must use a dual conversion crystal.

Additionally an AM Rx must use an AM crystal and a FM(PPM) Rx must use an FM crystal

Last but not least The modulation shift must match the Tx. Negative Shift Tx must use a Negative shift Rx. The positive shift Tx must use a positive shift Rx. The exceptions to this is if either the Rx or the Tx has a shift select feature.
JohnBuckner is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 10:43 AM
  #3  
Montague
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Laurel, MD,
Posts: 4,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Also, receivers don't mix, it's the transmitter that does all the mixing. So any RX will "handle" whatever mixes the TX does.

Take a simple aileron->rudder mix as an example. You set it up so that the rudder moves with the ailerons. Inside the TX, when you move the aileron stick, the TX creates signals on both the aileron and rudder channels, so the RX sees information telling it to move both surfaces. The RX can't tell if if the commanded movement was the result of a mix or something you did manually, and it doesn't care.

The exception to that is if you use an add-on mixing box that would plug in to two (or more) channels on your RX, and you'd plug your servos in to the add-on mixer. There are several add-on elevon mixers out there. But again, using an add-on mixer has nothing to do with what reciever you buy, they should work with any RX exactly the same.
Montague is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 06:40 PM
  #4  
flying wood
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Sorry I ment a 6 channel transmitter with delta wing (elevon) mixing.
Does anyon know of a good one?
flying wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 11:44 PM
  #5  
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

ORIGINAL: flying wood
Sorry I ment a 6 channel transmitter with delta wing (elevon) mixing.
Does anyon know of a good one?
Any 6 channel computer radio (transmitter) will have elevon mixing (JR calls it delta). You can choose from Futaba, JR, Hitec, Airtronics, multiplex, etc... What brand of radio gear do you have now?
GalenB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 06:13 PM
  #6  
flying wood
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Is there anyway to get a transmitter like the Laser 6 (hitec), without the servos and reciever? I already have my mind set on hs55 servos and and an Electron reciever (they come together in a flight pack).
flying wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 10:08 PM
  #7  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

servocity is known as a great retailer and sells just TX's bare for a good price
http://www.servocity.com/

although with the laser 6, i would almost spend the extra $50 and get the two servos and rx with it. or jump up to the 7c for a little more, which will last you through MANY planes.

(and no, i have no affiiliation with servocity! just bought a couple things from them, including my bare futaba 9c)
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 12:05 PM
  #8  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Another good choice for a transmitter only is the Hitec Eclipse. With that and the Spectra frequency synthesizer, you will be able to operate just about any make of PPM receiver on the market and fly glider, power, electric, delta, helicopter configurations.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 12:22 PM
  #9  
flying wood
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: transmitters

Thanks I can save a lot of hassle that way!
flying wood is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service