RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

GYRO info

Reply

Old 07-14-2004, 08:48 PM
  #1  
mike f
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: BelairSouth Aust, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default GYRO info

I am using a Hitec Eclipse 7 Tx with a Hitec 8 channel Rx and a single rate, single axis Hitec GY-130 Gyro (which I believe are no longer available). I do not have the additional ‘Remote Gyro Gain Control device #44340’, which makes the GY-130 a duel rate device.
This is being used in a JR Venture 30 model helicopter.
I have plugged the rudder ‘yaw’ servo into the gyro lead #1 and the gyro lead #2 is plugged into channel 4, and the gyro lead #3 which should be plugged into the ‘Remote Gyro Gain Control device’ is plugged into channel 5, (as shown on page 8 of the instruction manual).
After all that carry on, what I would like to know is:
1 Do I have the leads plugged into the right channels (on page 42 of the manual it says to plug the gyro into channel 7 if you have a dual rate device, I do know mine is a single rate device)?
2 With the leads plugged into their existing positions can the gyro ‘gain’ be changed in the ‘GYRO’ setting of the Tx?
3 What is the difference between a ‘single rate’ and a ‘dual rate’ device?
4 Should I scrap the GY-130 and use something different?
5 If so, what would you recommend and would I be able to change the gain with the Tx?

Thanks
mike f is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 11:36 AM
  #2  
wisdom-seeker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GYRO info

The Hitec manual is confusing when it comes to gyros. What is really happening is that channel 5 outputs a single signal at whatever EPA setting is defined for that channel. This is done with the thought that you will program different values for different settings of the flight mode switches.

However, if you want to be able to switch gyro modes in the same flight mode setting, you need to move your gyro control channel from channel 5 to channel 7. Channel 7 is controlled with the CH7 switch just to the right of the transmitter antenna. You can program different EPA values for each position of this switch. In my case with a Telebee gyro, one position sets the gain and mode of "rate mode" on the gyro, and the other position sets the gain and mode for "heading hold mode" on the gyro. Therefore, I can turn HH mode on and off within the same flight mode using the CH7 switch, and I can control the gain in either mode with the EPA adjustment for channel 7.
wisdom-seeker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 07:53 AM
  #3  
mike f
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: BelairSouth Aust, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GYRO info

Wisdom-Seeker

Thanks very much for the reply. I'll have to go away and have a play with this to see if I can make some sense of what you said. I'm very new at all this so it takes awhile to sink in. Again thanks for replying.

Michael
mike f is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service