RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Servo wabble

Reply

Old 07-21-2004, 09:37 AM
  #1  
rcflyertim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo wabble

Just want to know what it means when you have a servo on you plane, that when you move the stick on your transmitter, the servo wabble(bounces) when it goes to stop at the end of the input command. I would like to know also if it can be fixed.
Thanks
rcflyertim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 12:49 PM
  #2  
wisdom-seeker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

Are you saying that the servo arm "hunts" before it settles into position? Or, does it not settle at all? Just how old is this servo? The problem you describe is usually associated with old servos that have a bad or worn pot.
wisdom-seeker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 12:56 PM
  #3  
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

Is this by some chance being used with a Y-harness? If so, test each servo seperately from the Y and see how it works. I think I know what your talking about, as I have seen similar sort of annomaly, when using a Y-harness. I'm thinking I changed the Y though...it's been a while. Good luck.
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 02:19 PM
  #4  
HOOTER
Senior Member
 
HOOTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

Tim,

I had the same problem on one of my Stik's, and as dgrant say's I changed my Y-connector and solved the problem. Bad connection in the connector.
HOOTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 06:21 PM
  #5  
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

I've seen servos where the pot goes bad too. My experience there was the servo just kept running side to side.

The anomaly I think Tim has is, the servo just seems to go just past center on the return, then just jogs itself just a tad each way, then settles down to center. It takes a fraction longer then it seems it should to stop, with more motion then it should have..makee sensee?? Now...that I don't think is the servo, as much as it could be harness/wiring. Dont' know..... have fun.

OOOHHHHH>>>......what kind of Transmitter do you have....maybe we can get you going on some programing if you need, if it ends up being that. I don't usually use Y's anymore,..it's in the Tx.
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 07:21 PM
  #6  
Nogyro
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Nogyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puryear, TN
Posts: 2,712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

I found that if have longer than 34" leads on the std size wire with 4.8 volt packs, this will happen. I'm sure it's a low voltage thing. Also a dirty connection will cause it. Bad pot also.
Nogyro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 08:23 PM
  #7  
RTK
My Feedback: (1)
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Left Coast , CA
Posts: 4,890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

As stated above, try unplugging the extensions a few times. Had a similar problem and it was just a bad connection.
RTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 08:01 AM
  #8  
rcflyertim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

Thanks guys. I started trying the suggestions and sure enough, it was the servo. I guess there is no way to cleanor replace the pot is there??? If not, I will replace it with a new servo.
rcflyertim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 10:20 AM
  #9  
wisdom-seeker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo wabble

Cleaning/replacing the pot is probably more effort than it's worth, especially with today's prices on servos.
wisdom-seeker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service