RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New RD8000 - Have questions

Reply

Old 07-29-2004, 02:25 AM
  #1  
PlagueWielder
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , ISRAEL
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New RD8000 - Have questions

Hey

I just got a brand new Sanwa (Airtronics) RD8000 PCM and have a couple of questions.

1. It came with 5 Sanwa 102 servos and I cant seem to find the specs online. Can someone help me here?

2. I know that with the Futaba 9C you have to program it with the antenna extended. Is it the same case with the RD8000 or is there something of this sort that I have to do?

3. If you have any more tips on programming or anything I should know, please write them.

Thanks!!!
PlagueWielder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 04:28 PM
  #2  
Tommee
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Zagreb, CROATIA (HRVATSKA)
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

Hi Plague

I got RD 8000 two days ago,it is a great radio.

Servo spec. are: 3kg/cm,0.2sec/60deg at 4.8V
I have same question as you about extending antenna or not (for now I do it). I dont have any tips about programing because I just bought it but someone will help...Tom
Tommee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 07:08 PM
  #3  
speedy1379
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: galesburg, IL
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

No you do not have to extend the ant. to program this radio.
I've had mine for a week and have the programing memorized.
This is also my first comp radio. If there are any other ???'s
Let every one know, we are glad to help.
speedy1379 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 07:30 PM
  #4  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

unless you can somehow shut off the power to the RF deck then yes, extend the antenna whenever the radio is on. some radios are more tolerant than others but why chance it?


dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 09:52 PM
  #5  
CP140
Senior Member
 
CP140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 801
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

I don't think you have to extend the antenna... you can program away with it down, but once the radio is switched on, it is radiating and leaving the antenna down for extended periods could be real hard on your radio!
CP140 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 07:07 AM
  #6  
PlagueWielder
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , ISRAEL
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

Well, I programmed 2 airplanes with the antenna in.. will that damage anything?

I think Ill email them to ask.

Anyway, really easy to program! I already know pretty much everything.

EDIT: I just looked at the manual and it doesnt say anything about extending the antenna...
PlagueWielder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 12:17 PM
  #7  
PlagueWielder
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , ISRAEL
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New RD8000 - Have questions

I just recieved a response from Airtronics and they said that it doesnt damage the radio system.
PlagueWielder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service