RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

9cap question

Reply

Old 07-30-2004, 10:21 AM
  #1  
Dart373
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, TN
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 9cap question

Hi guys, thanks for your help on this radio earlier. I am very close to buying the radio. But, before I do anything, can the 9 ca do crow much easier than the 6xas which I have to use 2 switches? Thanks.
Dart373 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 10:49 AM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

This should help answer your question.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/faq-9c-q529.html
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 10:56 AM
  #3  
Dart373
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, TN
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

Sounds like a very hard radio to setup, but once in place, goes so much farther than my 6xas has thought about...
Dart373 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:09 AM
  #4  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

I have not gotten into doing any special mixing in mine just basic stuff. It's like everything else. Seems hard at first but after you do it, it's not that bad.

Yes, it's a great radio. I don't think I've heard anyone not happy with it.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:11 AM
  #5  
Dart373
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, TN
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

Now, I am looking at a old 8U , but it is new in box. I am trying to see if it too can do a 1 swicth crow, and if a standard campac works in it too.
Dart373 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 04:57 PM
  #6  
ptgarcia
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
ptgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 2,072
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

Dart373,

If I remember right it will do crow with the flip of a single switch. I had mine set up this way, and with the flip of another switch I had full span ailerons. In conjunction with high rates I had lightning fast rolls. And the compac works in the 8u also. I loved my 8u super until it was stolen[]
ptgarcia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 05:37 PM
  #7  
Dart373
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, TN
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

There is a guy locally who has an 8U that I know. He said $100 for it, but I need to buy a campac and a module in my channel. But, I can get a brand new 9C with everything for $279.00
Dart373 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 06:02 PM
  #8  
ptgarcia
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
ptgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 2,072
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

I would recommend the 9c as it is a bit more capable and a little easier to program. However, if the 8u is a "super" (signified by a red S next to the model number) it is a good deal at $150 ($100 for the radio plus $50 for the frequency module). The Campac isn't necessary unless you have more than 8 models ready to fly. The choice is yours my friend...good luck!

p.s. If the 8u is not a super, forget it!
ptgarcia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 06:05 PM
  #9  
Dart373
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, TN
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

I have 12 models.... I also think that the 9C is a better choice. More features and a warranty. If you know what I mean. Thanks. I just put my 6xas up for sale here...maybe I can afford a 9c
Dart373 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2004, 12:20 AM
  #10  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9cap question

Yes you can set the 9C up to crow on one switch.
I read the futaba FAQ on the 9C before I got mine too. When I got to the end I was like "HUH??". But when I actually got it and started programming it, it was really easy. I'm sure you'll find it the same way.
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service