RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Change from 4.8v to 6v

Reply

Old 08-11-2004, 05:14 PM
  #1  
CougarRules
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CougarRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nuneaton, GA, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Change from 4.8v to 6v

I have a 6exa with a basic 6ch (Cant remember which one off the top of my head) rx and 3003 servos, after installing them in the plane they do lack the performance i need but cant afford new servos at the minute. Would i gain much by upgrading to a 6v pack and would this do any damage to the rx or servos over time?

Thanks Cougar.
CougarRules is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 05:19 PM
  #2  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

i have used a 6v setup with futaba radios for a long time and have never had any problems. They make your servos put out more torque, and they respond quicker. The thing is, if you get a 6v 1000Mah pack, it will have less runtime then a 4.8v 1000Mah pack. BUT, i use a 6v 1100Mah pack and can go all day (half gallon worth of flights, or more) with one charge. good luck, the 6v is a good choice, as long as you get a high capacity.

sean
ifixairplanes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 06:00 PM
  #3  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

Here is thread will some good info. I think it will answer most of your questions.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_18...tm.htm#1916264
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 10:35 AM
  #4  
CougarRules
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CougarRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nuneaton, GA, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

Cheers Guys i will be putting a 6v pack in for sure now as the servos could really do with that extra bit of torque.
CougarRules is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 11:38 AM
  #5  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

Remember that your wall charger will not fully charge a 6V pack. You can charge it with most field chargers though.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 11:38 AM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

Make sure you go with a 25% larger capacity pack as well
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 11:57 AM
  #7  
ec12-1582
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Change from 4.8v to 6v

I use a 6 Volt 5 cell pack (AA Size) in my boat (2100MAH) with Futaba FP-S10 Servo, Hitec 715BB, And Hitec 645MG, running through a Futaba 127DF receiver. It works great and gives me a good 4 to 5 hours constant on sail time before needing a recharge or battery swap. Plus the 6V offers a lot more speed and tourque in the servos than the 4.8V Pack I originally used.

Chris
ec12-1582 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service