RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

Reply

Old 08-20-2004, 11:42 AM
  #1  
fd59
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fd59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cleveland, MS
Posts: 151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

All other things being the same which one should be or is the better servo - An analog coreless or a 3-pole digital?

BTW: I do realize that a coreless digital is the best.
fd59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 01:04 PM
  #2  
SMALLFLY-
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
SMALLFLY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 2,156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

Good question, I would suppose this would be mostly a hitec question. I personally would go with the analog corless as the motor is the heart of the servo
SMALLFLY- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 03:10 PM
  #3  
J.Paul Saure
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 351
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

You mean something like:

Futaba S3151 43Oz/in .21sec @US$40
v/s
Futaba S9001 54oz/in .22sec @US$30

I've not seen a S3151 but the S9001 is very good.
What's the point of using a digital servo with a 3pole motor??? It's like drawing the line with a fine point pen and cutting with an axe....
I bet Futaba is making good money with the S3151...

Saludos,
Paul
J.Paul Saure is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 03:44 PM
  #4  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

The three pole digital will have a tighter control loop and will perform better under load. The coreless analog will appear to have better centering but that is under a no load condition due to its lower inertia.
The three pole digital is a better choice but I can hear the screaming now. To all those I hear screaming take a look at Futaba web site where they discuss the digital servo amplifier. The difference between the three pole and the coreless motor is small and the digital servo amplifier easily overcomes it.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 05:19 PM
  #5  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

dirtybird, what about the mass of the 3 pole?
I would think it would cause it to not perform as good as a analog.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 11:11 AM
  #6  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

ORIGINAL: Geistware

dirtybird, what about the mass of the 3 pole?
I would think it would cause it to not perform as good as a digital.
There seems to be some missunderstanding here. We are talking about a three pole motor with a digital amplifier vs a coreless motor with an analog amplifier aren't we?
The mass of the three pole is what causes its greater inertia.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 02:47 PM
  #7  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3-pole Digital -vs- Analog Coreless

Sorry I ment ANALOG, not DIGITAL!
ORIGINAL: dirtybird

ORIGINAL: Geistware

dirtybird, what about the mass of the 3 pole?
I would think it would cause it to not perform as good as a digital.
There seems to be some missunderstanding here. We are talking about a three pole motor with a digital amplifier vs a coreless motor with an analog amplifier aren't we?
The mass of the three pole is what causes its greater inertia.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service