Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Flapperons

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2002, 07:47 PM
motor710-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flapperons

Thanks for all of the help with the flapper-on set-up. Since I am new to planes but not to heli's can you tell me what the purpose of the flapper-on is for? If I have the flaperons up, how will that effect the flying for the plane. I assume if they are down that would assist in landing and taking off and give the plane more lift.

If the flapper-ons are up, will that cause the plane to fly slower and still maintain altitude? I have a Big Stick 60 and I am transitioning to this plane. I want the plane to fly slow and steady. Could some of you experts explain the purpose of the "Flapper-on"? I also have a JR 8103 radio.

Thanks for the help.
Old 07-28-2002, 08:05 PM
Lee Belew
My Feedback: (2)

Default flaperons

Texas is a big state. what city are you in. I am in Houston.
easier to explain on the phone.
Lee [email protected]

Flaperons are ailerons that act like flaps and ailerons at the same time.
Old 07-28-2002, 08:09 PM
canuck4ever
My Feedback: (4)

Default Flapperons

My limited understanding of Flaperons mean that each aileron has its own servo and when Flaperons are activated, both ailerons are lowered equally providing more surface for the plane to fly slower on. Then, when turning, ailerons now use the new lowered position as their center and individually lift/lower from this new position. Final outcome is that it decreases landing speed and can improve acrobatic performance depending on stunt.

I'm in the process on building a new low wing level and have been searching on how exactly to install flaperons as I would like to build these (servo mounts) in the wing.

More info or a link on how to do this or wire them would be appreciated. Web search did not lead to much.
Old 07-28-2002, 08:24 PM