RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Can this radio be upgraded?

Reply

Old 08-22-2004, 09:42 PM
  #1  
TLH101
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can this radio be upgraded?

I have an old Airtronics Championship Single stick radio that is on the old AM frequency(2 color flag). Can this readio be coverted to FM on a current frequency, or is just an old wortless radio. This unit is in nearly new condition, and full of modern features and would be a nice unit if I could use it.
Thanks
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 12:45 AM
  #2  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

sounds like a canditate for a [link=http://www.mstar2k.com]microstar2000[/link] conversion.


dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 12:54 PM
  #3  
famousdave
Senior Member
My Feedback: (61)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bradenton , FL
Posts: 2,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

Sounds like a candidate for the vintage radio shelf. It will cost you more to convert than it would to buy a new Airtronics FM transmitter. I just bought a like new 6 ch on Ebay for $45 for my slope flyer.

DP
famousdave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 02:39 PM
  #4  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

ORIGINAL: desertpig
It will cost you more to convert than it would to buy a new Airtronics FM transmitter.
but you can't buy a new SINGLE-STICK...

and if you do all the soldering yourself the microstar encoder+FMA/JJM RF deck will only cost $150...in the end you get a single-stick that'll do everything a 10X or 9Z will do but is 100 times easier to program.


dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 05:24 PM
  #5  
famousdave
Senior Member
My Feedback: (61)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bradenton , FL
Posts: 2,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

I guess I should have read the single stick part.. are SS radios used only for gliders, delta wings, etc - I am assuming they are 2 channels on gimbals and sliders on the other channels - or do they have more channels available?

Just curious!
DP
famousdave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 05:46 PM
  #6  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

check the single stick thread for some pics.

the rudder is a big knob on the ail/ele stick. throttle is a slider on the side of the case and is operated while cradling the case in your hand. very similar to a 3 axis video game joystick

all the big manufacturers used to make them way back when...not to be confused with the cheap little 2 and 3 channel radios of today


dave

edit: added pic from single stick thread...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54300.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	166776  
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 07:22 PM
  #7  
F3X
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can this radio be upgraded?

Yes, I think Airtronics can still convert that TX to FM. Call them and ask. 714-978-1895

Tom.
F3X is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service