Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Good TX for plane or heli?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2004, 10:05 AM
chickfisher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good TX for plane or heli?

I have been racing offroad cars for several years, but I am looking into getting a plane or heli soon. I do have a good LHS that has a guy that knows his stuff about planes and helis, but I would like to get some more opinions. He is suggesting a JR 6102 transmitter, which he says is great for either planes or helis. I have had problems when listening to the LHS though since they REALLY want to sell what is on the shelf, no matter what it is. I guess the question is, what radio to get? I do not need the ultimante $1000 transmitter, but I would like to get one that will last me for several years. I hate buying something, just to need something better in a few months!

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-27-2004, 10:50 AM
MHawker
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: Good TX for plane or heli?

I would recommend the Futaba 9C. The radio comes in two models. They are configured differently for the heli version v.s. the plane version, but they can be switched to fly either. If you are going to fly Helis most, get the Heli version or vice versa if you think you'll fly planes mostly.

Between the two models, there are only a couple of switches placed differently and the plane version has a ratcheted throttle. Other than that, the radios are identical and can be switched to fly either helis or airplanes (or sailplanes).
Old 08-27-2004, 01:36 PM
chickfisher

Being that I know NOTHING about RC things that are in the air, are there any features that I should be looking for (ex. ratcheting throttle... whatever that is)?

Thanks
Old 08-27-2004, 03:00 PM
Jim Schwagle
My Feedback: (1)