RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Standard Servo vs. Digital Servo

Old 09-14-2004, 11:57 AM
aec12

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Standard Servo vs. Digital Servo

Could someone tell me the difference in a standard servo and a digital servo? In other words, what would the Futaba S3151 digital servo selling for $60 do that the Futaba S3004 standard servo selling for $14 would not?

Thanks,
Old 09-14-2004, 01:17 PM
Gringo Flyer
My Feedback: (18)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Servo vs. Digital Servo

Drain your battery in half the time

I have four in a new plane and wow they eat up the bateries. I only have 3 flights with mine and I havent noticed a tremendous difference in flight. I am not a pro pilot either.

For me, the digital servos came with my 7C, but I dont think I would buy them apart from a radio.

Also, Tower has those servos for $39 and not $60 if you are wanting to buy some. However, if you buy 4 that comes out to $160 for another $100 you could buy the whole setup radio, receiver, servos, etc. If you really want the servos but have a radio, you could sell the radio and rx, bat, etc for $100 easy.
Old 09-14-2004, 02:12 PM
smokingcrater

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

digital servos are MUCH, MUCH stronger for small movements. they are basically able to use the full torque rating at any position, whereas standard servos have proportionate power depending on the distance they are off center. Along with that goes increased centered ability and response time.

Depends on the plane, on a trainer or some sport flyer plane you won't notice a difference. (btw, they should be used with a larger battery pack, those stock AA 600 mah nicad's are almost worthless for many uses)
Old 09-14-2004, 05:06 PM
locoworks

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback