RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

retract servo travel limit

Reply

Old 09-16-2004, 06:48 AM
  #1  
Ragz
Thread Starter
 
Ragz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nagpur, INDIA
Posts: 2,543
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default retract servo travel limit

I am using 2 hitec 75 heavy duty retract servos on a WM giant mustang. I have never used mech retracts before hence this question. It seems that the travel on the servos is too much for my application. I also know that retracts servos are not proportional and they are only like levers, either on or off. Is there any way I can reduce the end point throws on these servos. I use a 9CAP radio and end point menu doesnt do the job. I am sure there is an easy solution that I cannot think of. Please advice.
Ragz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 07:14 AM
  #2  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: retract servo travel limit

The common adjustment here is to drill a new hole in your servo arm, closer to the center of the shaft. Link to it, and your total travel will decrease.

Good luck,
Dave Olson

ORIGINAL: Ragz

I am using 2 hitec 75 heavy duty retract servos on a WM giant mustang. I have never used mech retracts before hence this question. It seems that the travel on the servos is too much for my application. I also know that retracts servos are not proportional and they are only like levers, either on or off. Is there any way I can reduce the end point throws on these servos. I use a 9CAP radio and end point menu doesnt do the job. I am sure there is an easy solution that I cannot think of. Please advice.
Scar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:32 AM
  #3  
chris-s
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: retract servo travel limit

Alternatively, you can swap the electronics with a standard servo. I have done this successfully several times.

Cheers,

Chris
chris-s is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service