RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Extensions with a choke.

Reply

Old 09-28-2004, 09:31 AM
  #1  
lownslo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lownslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Extensions with a choke.

I would like to know what is a "choke" on a "Y" extension? I am going to build my Fly Baby kit this winter and I will have 2 servos in the tail for the elevator,l and 2 in the wing. Do these work? Are they really necessary? It will be a 4.8 volt system. ....... thanks in advance.... lownslo
lownslo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 01:24 PM
  #2  
SitNFly
Senior Member
My Feedback: (54)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

Choke is a capacitor installed in the servo lead to block high frequency noise from being transmitted back along the lead to the receiver. If designed correctly, they do work. Can't answer whether they are really necessary. Only way is to try a normal lead and see if you have any glitch problems. With today's high quality radio equipment, it's usually not a problem.
SitNFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 01:57 PM
  #3  
modeltronics
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

A choke is NOT a capacitor, it is an inductor.
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 02:31 PM
  #4  
SitNFly
Senior Member
My Feedback: (54)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

Oops. Correct you are, bad I am.
SitNFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 11:51 AM
  #5  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

ORIGINAL: lownslo

I would like to know what is a "choke" on a "Y" extension? I am going to build my Fly Baby kit this winter and I will have 2 servos in the tail for the elevator,l and 2 in the wing. Do these work? Are they really necessary? It will be a 4.8 volt system. ....... thanks in advance.... lownslo
I have been flying a 1/3 scale FLY Baby bipe with four servos in the wings,two servos on the elevator and a throttle cut servo as well as a throttle servo. Two of the wing servos are digital. I have found no need for chokes.
Make sure the Y harnesses are heavy duty with gold plated contacts if you can find them. I saw an ad in RCM for heavy duty Y harnesses with twisted leads and gold plated contacts but I don't remember where.
Chokes are a hold over from the early days of RC and are no longer needed if you are not into digital servos. Even then I doubt they will help much.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 08:25 PM
  #6  
lownslo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lownslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

Thanks for the replies guys!! I happened to be "window shopping" before I read dirtybird's reply. Without knowing his sugguestion I found some Y's, other extensions with 20 guage wire, and gold plated connector! They are at Servo City. http://www.servocity.com/html/24__servo_extensions.html This page shows several 24 inch extensions at resonable prices. ...... lownslo
lownslo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 05:41 PM
  #7  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extensions with a choke.

Actually a choke is a simple term for anything that absorbs RF energy. Capacitors and standard inductors can be used as chokes. What is typically refered to as a choke is simply a ring of special material that acts as an inductor at high frequencies. You see them around keyboard cables all the time, though, those are much bigger than those used in RC. They're most effective for preventing a servo's feedback from interferening with the receivers transmitter range. At RC frequencies, capacitors are actually more effective and smaller/lighter than inductors or ring chokes, but they're seldom used for some reason.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service