RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hi Voltage lines

Reply

Old 10-12-2004, 10:01 PM
  #1  
plasticjoe
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
plasticjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hi Voltage lines

I am curious, those big high tension major power lines that run trough farm fields going to who knows where, do they put off any kind of RF noise to mess with the R/C Signal ? I am curious because there is a church that has a unique statue in my area that I would love to take pics of, but to do so would require flying close to those kind of lines ( less than 1/4 mile ) Wouldn't wanna put in a nice A/P plane and equipment from radio glitching. Your experiences would be appreciated. Thanks
plasticjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 11:19 PM
  #2  
TimC
Senior Member
 
TimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lone Pine, CA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

The dry lake where I do most of my flying has high voltage transmission lines running along one side. I've flown as close as 100' without any problems. I don't think it would be a good idea to get the lines directly between your transmitter and model though. This might be o.k., I've just never done it.
TimC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 11:20 PM
  #3  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

Should be OK. Do an extended range check and see how the servos respond
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 06:32 PM
  #4  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

Depends on the condition of the towers themselves. If they're in disrepair they may be generating a lot more RF than healthy lines. Like rajule said, just do a lot of range testing.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 06:48 PM
  #5  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

A problem as simple as a dusty HV insulator can create substantial EMI/RFI. As mentioned, perform extended range tests. And don't go out of your way to fly near the HV lines or towers.

RC-CAM
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 08:16 PM
  #6  
jpmcclary
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

A couple years ago we were having some "hits" in a specific direction from our flight stations. The distance from our flight lines was about 1500'.. I called the power Co to find out if there was a problem.. They said MAYBE... About a year ago they installed new towers and lines and upping the voltage... The problem STOPPED...Best guess, the insulators were causing the problem because they were warn/loose.
jpmcclary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 10:11 PM
  #7  
Flying Geezer
My Feedback: (14)
 
Flying Geezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 1,326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Voltage lines

Many years ago I flew at a club field where one end of the field left you with the option of coming over, or going under, high tension lines. I had no problems, nor did I see any. Wave propogation is a complex thing. It IS a risk to fly near high tension lines, not only from the emissions, but several other factors. Avoid getting the power lines directly between receiver and transmitter. If you cross over the lines, try to keep the plane as broadside to yourself as possible, stay high, and don't point your antenna towards the plane.

Hope this helps. Good luck if you try it.
Flying Geezer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service