RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

Reply

Old 10-16-2004, 10:01 AM
  #1  
JuanSG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Madrid, SPAIN
Posts: 276
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

Hello!

I would like to know how can I have flight modes instead dual rates with my futaba 9 CAP.


Thank you very much

Juan Sánchez
www.acro3d.com
JuanSG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 10:10 AM
  #2  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

THE Futaba 9C does not support flight modes.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 11:58 PM
  #3  
ilrcflyboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

Giestware, I'm not sure that is entirely true. There are two switches that have three positions on them and you can program your rates for aileron, rudder and elevator all to the same switch. For instance, I have the aileron, rudder and elevator rates all set on switch C. Up is high, middle and low are low. This was originally low, IMAC and 3-D, but once my plane was dialed in, I only needed two rates.

They are NOT called "flight modes" on Futaba, but they do the same thing.
ilrcflyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 09:28 AM
  #4  
Bob101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rural, TX
Posts: 845
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

Flight modes entails more than just "rates". That's why there is a difference between high/low rates and flight modes.

Nearly any radio can set the rates for aileron/rudder/elevator either high/low rates or triple rates like the 9C.

Flight modes allows you to throw a single switch and not only affect the rates but other items as well, setting the rates for each control surface, exponential, and several other factors. Such as having a harrier flight mode or hover flight mode that goes to 3-D rates with a lot of expo and also giving you the mix for spoilerons etc....

You can fly any plane with high/low rates. However, in my opinion flight modes are superior for certain types of flying.
I like a condition that is for normal flying, another for 3-D, and another for snaps, meaning I can put the sticks to the corner and come out with a perfect snap and not over-rotate. Another for harriers and hovering mentioned above with the perfect rates and turns on the spoilerons mix. I also have one for spins, so that I have the perfect throw for the perfect spin - not too much and not to little. Once you have it programmed right (trail and error) it's just a matter of hitting that switch and full up elevator and full rudder and it's a perfect speed spin for me.
Bob101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 11:15 AM
  #5  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

real flight modes should allow you to change EVERY parameter including switch and channel assignments. there is only one radio i know of that can do this but you can't just go out and buy it.



dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 11:32 PM
  #6  
ilrcflyboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

I apologize for stopping at "rates." Everything that Bob mentioned can be programmed on the single switch on the 9C. It takes time to setup, but all good airplanes do.
ilrcflyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 03:27 PM
  #7  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

A "flight mode" in it's true sense is basically like multiple model memories within the same model. Like instead of having IMAC and 3D rates, you can have entire IMAC and 3D model profiles within one memory.
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 06:57 PM
  #8  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight modes in Futaba 9CAP?

Try flight modes would be like changing model memory with a switch.
With only 7 mixes, you can run out of mixes before you can simulate a flight mode.
ORIGINAL: ilrcflyboy

I apologize for stopping at "rates." Everything that Bob mentioned can be programmed on the single switch on the 9C. It takes time to setup, but all good airplanes do.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service