RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Rate Question

Reply

Old 10-18-2004, 08:56 PM
  #1  
aec12
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fitzgerald, GA
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Rate Question

What is the proper way to set up dual rates on an airplane? Do you set the Control throws mechanically to the high rate position and then use the radio to run the rates down to the low rate position? I have a Futaba 6EXA radio.

Thanks,

Allen
aec12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 12:32 AM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Rate Question

That is the way I set mine up if I understand you correctly. I set everything up for maximum throws and set the radio's ATV to the maximum. Then use the dual rates to turn the throws down to the recommended throws for both high and low rates per the manual.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 05:26 AM
  #3  
aec12
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fitzgerald, GA
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Rate Question

Thanks Mike,

I thought that was right, but I just wasn't sure. I have only been in the hobby for about 10 months and I have a lot to learn. Again, thanks for the help.

Allen
aec12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 11:17 AM
  #4  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Rate Question

Just passing on the lessons I've learned from the great people I've come into contact with in this hobby and this forum.

Good luck.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 12:59 PM
  #5  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Rate Question

While you are setting up dual rates, you may also want to setup exponential. You may find that the controls are too sensitive when you switch to higher throws. Exponential can make the controls a bit less (or more, but that's not used much) sensitive around the center. This allows you to get the benefit of the larger control throws when you need them, but smooths out your flying when you are only moving the sticks a little. The 6EXA manual does a pretty good job of explaining how to setup dual rates an exponential at the same time.

One note, this kind of stuff should be setup in the shop, not at the field. You want to be sure you get it working correctly and that you are 100% familiar with the change before you even think about flying.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 01:30 PM
  #6  
huey-pilot
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Rate Question

When I discovered expotential I quit using dual rates, I set my airplane up for the maximum throw that I think I will need then program in expotential. You can get full control movement without having to move a switch and the airplane will fly with the same feel all the time. With expo you will always have maximum control movement if needed and an airplane with a lot of control movement will be much easier to fly.
huey-pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service