RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

14mz

Reply

Old 12-07-2004, 06:58 PM
  #1  
jmehok
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , PA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 14mz

Anyone have any idea how much the 14 mz is going to cost, I noticed Futaba hasn't said. Perhaps they think we would have a stroke.
jmehok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 06:59 PM
  #2  
mrc100
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

$2,200
mrc100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 10:23 PM
  #3  
HavinFun
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Crestwood, IL
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Check it out here.


http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJHG6&P=0
HavinFun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 04:14 AM
  #4  
Roquewj
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Curitiba,PR, BRAZIL
Posts: 351
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

As a JR jockey, I will just wait for JR release a version at half the price . . .
Roquewj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 09:14 AM
  #5  
LSP972
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 4,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

...and half the features.
LSP972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 01:27 PM
  #6  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

... and half as many people willing to use it... [8D]
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 05:42 PM
  #7  
Shortman
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

I thought if JR would release it, it would cost $4,400? My Futaba 9CAP is $260 TX only, their 9303 is $500 TX only.[8D]
Shortman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 08:39 PM
  #8  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Isn't the 9303 supposed to be compared to the 9Z?
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 09:07 PM
  #9  
yellerchamp
My Feedback: (42)
 
yellerchamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: mt.vernon IL
Posts: 454
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Better yet after you pay the $2200.00 who is going to work on it........at this price they are not throw away, and I have yet to met anyone at futaba or tower who is qaulified to work on such technology. Other than changing whole board which is okay under warranty, but look out when its out of wrranty.....
yellerchamp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 12:50 AM
  #10  
Icebird
Senior Member
 
Icebird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 400
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

ORIGINAL: Lynx

Isn't the 9303 supposed to be compared to the 9Z?
Not likely, the 10X can't do everything the 9Z can do, and the 9303 is not as capable as the 10X

Jim
Icebird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 04:38 AM
  #11  
kmorgan
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Well the price has just been announced in the UK - £1650 which equates to $3185 at the current exchange rate. Looks like all you Stateside guys will be getting a good deal at $2200!!! - pity we can't use 72MHz over here. Although from what I have heard people are allready in line over here to snap them up.
kmorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 11:07 AM
  #12  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

ORIGINAL: Lynx

Isn't the 9303 supposed to be compared to the 9Z?
I happen to have both, so I think I can speak to that question.

The 9303 is a very capable radio, and I like mine a lot. However, it is NOT a 9Z. The 9303 has fewer flight modes (conditions), restricted switch assignability, and far less flexible programming capabilities.

But it was never meant to compete with the 9Z series. It is the 9C killer, and in this regard it is. I would not hesitate to recommend the 9303 to anyone flying aerobatic planes, gliders, or helicopters. It is a fine radio. But, if you want true top of the line features and flexibility, then it is not the radio for you. However, having said that, it will fulfill the needs of about 90% of all pilots out there.

Oh, BTW - I can't wait to get my hands on a 14MZ!!!!
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 12:43 PM
  #13  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

ORIGINAL: kmorgan

Well the price has just been announced in the UK - £1650 which equates to $3185 at the current exchange rate. Looks like all you Stateside guys will be getting a good deal at $2200!!! - pity we can't use 72MHz over here. Although from what I have heard people are allready in line over here to snap them up.
just swap a different module in... nice part about module based radios isn't the ability to change frequencies, but to change entire bands.
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 12:48 PM
  #14  
iflyj3
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
iflyj3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Paris, KY
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

ORIGINAL: kmorgan

Well the price has just been announced in the UK - £1650 which equates to $3185 at the current exchange rate. Looks like all you Stateside guys will be getting a good deal at $2200!!! - pity we can't use 72MHz over here. Although from what I have heard people are allready in line over here to snap them up.
Remember the old saying "A fool and his money are soon parted"
iflyj3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 04:04 PM
  #15  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Look for a PDA repair tech. This thing is based around PDA hardware, I'm sure they could repair it if something not too serious broke, but PDA's are also single board units and primarily based on IC's rather that discreete components, so if anything more serious than a display or a connector fails you'll have to junk the whole board and buy a new one, this is going to cost almost as much as a new transmitter. Consider the price tag, I would honestly make sure it is specifically included on an insurance policy for FULL coverage. On a device that 'high tech' you need to consider the upkeep costs of it as well, considering over the life of the product you're likley to spend quarter to half as much of it's purchase price on maintaince (batteries, broken connectors, the inevetible display cracking, etc)
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 04:07 PM
  #16  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

I'm sure it 's been said a few dozen times already, but I for one can only see a market of about 100 people on the entire planet that could justify the cost of this thing. It would probably be cheaper (I swear) to contact a freelance electrical engineer and have him custom build you a transmitter that has the features you need as opposed to buying the bloatware of the MZ.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:40 AM
  #17  
RCAddiction
My Feedback: (87)
 
RCAddiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 1,010
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

100 people? Nope. It's way higher, but hey, it's not supposed to make sense to lots of people. It's for early adopters and very demanding users.

Consider for a moment how many people have multiple $5000-$6000 IMAC/3D Carden type planes, having a $2200 radio to control them doesn't really seem completely insane. Consider that you can buy a basic radio with 4 servos and a receiver for the cost of a single JR8611. When the 9Z first came out at $1400, the same things were said about how ridiculously expensive it was. The planes were much less money at the time, more like $1500-2000 for hi end competitive pattern planes and such. They didn't have turbines which are incredibly more expensive. Yeah, it's undoubtedly a lot of money, but in perspective to what is being flown with it, not totally out of line.

Mine is on backorder at the LHS.
RCAddiction is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 09:22 PM
  #18  
okw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

I could be wrong, but I seem to remember reading that the PDA hardware/software is based on Microsoft technology. I don't know about you guys, but I'd never trust a $5000-$6000 IMAC machine to the Blue Screen of Death. I wouldn't trust my $39 combat plane to it and it's being held together with packing tape!
okw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 12:15 AM
  #19  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Only the touch screen is controlled my Windows CE. The plane controls are in a separate custom made Futaba processor just like their other radios.

ORIGINAL: okw

I could be wrong, but I seem to remember reading that the PDA hardware/software is based on Microsoft technology. I don't know about you guys, but I'd never trust a $5000-$6000 IMAC machine to the Blue Screen of Death. I wouldn't trust my $39 combat plane to it and it's being held together with packing tape!
JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 01:47 AM
  #20  
RCAddiction
My Feedback: (87)
 
RCAddiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 1,010
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

" Only the touch screen is controlled my Windows CE. The plane controls are in a separate custom made Futaba processor just like their other radios. "


Exactly. They are using Windows CE as a simple, people friendly, easy to use interface between the user and the radio only. It's not used for flying the plane. CE also simplifies the ability of the radio to employ standard Compact Flash cards, manage standard image files, manage software updates. There is a Futaba custom processor (in addition to the user interface processer) that acts as the interface between the radio and the plane.

Give Futaba some credit. They aren't going to do something risky with Jets and IMAC planes by utilizing software that might lead to lockups and crashes. The continuing comments in threads referring to the BSOD and Windows are truly ludicrous and merely reflect a lack of understanding. No offense intended, but please stop bashing what you don't understand.

BTW, the February issue of Fly RC has hit the stands with the first print review of the 14MZ.
RCAddiction is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 08:48 AM
  #21  
CDignition
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 703
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Ill stick with my Profi 4000, thank you, hee hee
CDignition is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 11:51 AM
  #22  
okw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

I've read the reviews of the 14MZ and I understand completely that the CE software is only operating the user interface. But after 20 years of using (putting up with) Microsoft software, I'm not about to sink $2200 into a piece of radio equipment just to have to "manage software updates" every couple months because they have found more bugs. Plus, I have no intention of giving Bill Gates any more of my hard earned money than absolutely necessary.

I've used Futaba equipment since I got into this hobby years ago and I'm sure that the MZ is a fine radio and they will sell many more than just 100 of them, but until I find something that I can't make my 9C do, I'll stick with it and save my money for fuel.
okw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 12:01 PM
  #23  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

Lee,

I have owned a business (for 20 years) that writes CAD software for the Macintosh and fail to grasp why the operating system or API’s would apply.

They are using Windows CE as a simple, people friendly, easy to use interface between the user and the radio only.
Sounds good but I don’t understand. Specifically how is the user interface different from past radios?

manage standard image files
What image files are necessary?

It is hard to believe that Microsoft could contribute to an advance RC technology.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 12:07 PM
  #24  
Dirtnaper
My Feedback: (11)
 
Dirtnaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 250
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

I LOVE RC

I cant wait to see some fellow Texan pull up in his H2 jump out with is MZ in hand and grab an arf trainer out of the back. Meanwhile he has 20 credit cards maxed out and barely living paycheck to paycheck. LOL (just an observation)

Im sure this thing will have its bugs but it will sale. JR will counter with something equal in the same price range they would be stupid not to. The top end equipment is going higher and higher get used to it. I have no doubt will see this years to come.

I wonder if it will have a scanner and shift select etc. You know, pratical options. I may get one just to check it out but you will probably see it on here months later.
Dirtnaper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 01:22 PM
  #25  
RCAddiction
My Feedback: (87)
 
RCAddiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 1,010
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 14mz

ORIGINAL: CDignition

Ill stick with my Profi 4000, thank you, hee hee
CDignition - been there, (Evo 12) done that. Seen the movie. Sold the radio after 3 months. Profi 4000 is much more capable than the EVO but I don't like it or care for the MPX programming methods.

Bill - read the reviews to understand what they are using image files for. For me, it's not necessary to have a photo of my plane displayed on the screen. There's a fine line between what is needed and is just cute. The audio files are going to be handy as you can assign 3 sec audio clips to switches, to remind you what switch you might have flipped while staring at your plane.

OKW- Software updates - MPX offers this on the EVO. It's a good way to fix bugs as well as to add features. They added shift select to the EVO 1 year after the product was launched, for instance.

Pittman - I, too, wish it had a scanner and shift select. Actually it would have been better if it had gone to 2.4MHZ or other frequency for transmission, to reduce the problems we now face. Sadly after spending $2000+, I can still get shot down by a newbie with a $99 radio who doesn't understand the concept of frequency pins.
RCAddiction is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service