Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Difference between FM and PCM

Old 12-18-2004, 09:06 AM
gowens
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference between FM and PCM

I am new to RC and don't know th diference betwen the two systems.
Thanks fore the help
Old 12-18-2004, 09:40 AM
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: Difference between FM and PCM

If you are truly new to RC the biggest difference you will find is the PCM receiver costs twice the FM(PPM) receiver. Is it worth it? In my opinion,no.
Do a search on PCM and you will find many other opinions. The subject has been beat to death.
Old 12-18-2004, 11:18 AM
Rodney

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

PCM is FM, so is most PPM. You will find all the major manufacturers higher end systems are FM whether they are PCM or PPM. There are still a few AM PPM systems available and, many years ago you could also get PCM using AM. To better give you an explanation of the various systems, check out www.torreypinesgulls.org/Radios.htm
Old 12-18-2004, 04:57 PM
gowens

Thanks to both dirtybird and Rodney for helping me.
Old 12-18-2004, 08:54 PM
da_man
My Feedback: (30)

I just want to point out that digital servos for some systems work better for pcm. That is because of the pulse rate. For airplanes I usually have Fm because of the cost and PCM in my helicopters. In the helicopter it does make a difference since it has metal parts which cause interferance with fm.
Old 12-18-2004, 11:00 PM
smokingcrater

In the helicopter it does make a difference since it has metal parts which cause interferance with fm.
so you use AM receivers in your heli??? brave soul...
Old 12-19-2004, 12:31 AM
hebertjj