RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

how to replace a broken gimbal (pics)

Reply

Old 12-30-2004, 01:31 AM
  #1  
Sokhar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default how to replace a broken gimbal (pics)

hey guys I got a Futaba t6xa and one of the sticks is broken but I wanted ot fix it to use in AFPD I took it all apart but cant seem to be able to get the connector to release fromt he printed circut boards maybe you can tell me what I am doing wrong

its the ST-R and ST-L connectors

Pics *******warning Hi RES 2mb each********



http://www.fbiclan.us/Radio1.jpg

http://www.fbiclan.us/Radio2.jpg

http://www.fbiclan.us/Radio3.jpg


Thanks
Sokhar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 02:12 AM
  #2  
sfsjkid
 
sfsjkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: fremont, CA
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how to replace a broken gimbal (pics)

Sokhar,

Hate to say this but those "connectors" aren't designed to come apart. They are designed to facilitate the assembly process, and soldered onto the board.

Good Luck!
sfsjkid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 04:18 PM
  #3  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how to replace a broken gimbal (pics)

Considering you'll probably melt the 'connector' in the process of desoldering, just cut the entire thing off about an inch above the board and solder the wires from the new gimbal on.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:47 AM
  #4  
Brokenprop
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how to replace a broken gimbal (pics)

While we have the back off of that transmitter, can anyone tell me where the antenna wire is connected. I can't get sokhar's pictures to download. The flimsy bracket holding the antenna in the case broke on mine. I can repair the bracket, but haven't a clue where the wire goes. It appears to have pulled from a connector (clean wires with insulation removed), but I don't see one. On an older Futaba they did use a connector.

I used to build this stuff when it had vacuum tubes and discrete components. In this one I have found the RF board, but I'm not sure where the output is. There doesn't seem to be discrete a final amp.
Brokenprop is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service