RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Problem with Futaba Conquest 6 (channel 4 and 5 conflict?)

Reply

Old 01-01-2005, 08:03 PM
  #1  
RLefebvre
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Problem with Futaba Conquest 6 (channel 4 and 5 conflict?)

I was using my radio today, and it seems to have malfunctioned. This is a 6 channel, non-computer radio. It was cold outside, about 38 degrees, and I spend about 30 minutes tuning my engine on a stand with the radio on. Once that I was done, I taxied out to the runway, and was ready to take off when I noticed the ailerons didn't work. I realized they weren't plugged in fully, and so I fixed that. Started it up, and taxied it out again, and just before takeoff, the rudder went hard over. Further than it could normally go with the rudder stick. It twitched a bit, but mostly stayed hard over and would not respond.

I went home, and tried the radio with another reciever (same freq) and servo setup in a different plane. Same problem.

I found that the servo now responds to the channel 5 switch (no, I don't have the rudder servo plugged into chanel 5). In one position, the rudder is hard over, in the other switch position, it's almost centered, just a little bit the other way. Rudder stick does not work, or only twitches the rudder at best.

So... is my radio FUBAR? It's an old radio, but it's got low total time, I barely used it over the past 10 years.
RLefebvre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 09:46 PM
  #2  
Maxime
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Quebec City, QC, CANADA
Posts: 566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with Futaba Conquest 6 (channel 4 and 5 conflict?)

I've had non-computer radios go nuts.... Seems like the ATV pots, reverse switches,etc gets dirty sometimes. I move the reverse swtches a couple times, turn the pots for ATV a couple times and it seems to "clean" them... and magically the radio start working good again. I don't know if this could cause the channel mixup though....
Maxime is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service