RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

PC cable for servo extensions

Reply

Old 01-05-2005, 03:41 PM
  #1  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default PC cable for servo extensions

Hi guys:

I thought will be a ggod idea make some extension with pc cable, those that comes in a lot of parallel strands together with a lot of colors. Very cheap and only have to silver solder some futaba connectors...
I think the one I got has around 14 or more wires together, so i just have to peal of each three for a extension.

But this cable is monofilament and a little rigid so it do not bent easy as the regular extension cable.

It is useful really for extensions or because of the only one filament it has some power lose???

Hope someone can tell!

Thanks
Tato.
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 05:19 PM
  #2  
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,956
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

baaaad idea mono cable will not stand the vibration and will fracture dont go there

M
mick15 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 06:57 AM
  #3  
pettit
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Use only stranded wires for servo leads.

Solid wires will encourage stress fractures at every turn or bend it makes.

pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 06:58 AM
  #4  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

O.K.

So I have 20" of the very best 19 ,in line parallel wire, for computer conectors that cost me a fortune to order that will be in the trash can tonight....
But I rather want to throw it away than collect a balsa puzzle at the flying field!!!

Tato.
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 07:11 AM
  #5  
Ross Kean
Senior Member
 
Ross Kean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Fredericton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 686
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Why are you using silver solder for the connectors??

Ross
Ross Kean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 07:15 AM
  #6  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Sorry, I meant regular soldering.
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 09:26 AM
  #7  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Don't throw it away, save it. It will be useful for something, some day. If not, you can will it to your children when you die.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 03:30 PM
  #8  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

yeap!!!
May be I could use it for the lights system in scale bird.
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 04:29 PM
  #9  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

If the extension is to be permenantly mounted in the aircraft it's perfectly fine to use solid core wire. Despite paranoia to the contrary solid conductor cable is not so fragile that it's going to explode if you look at it cross eyed. Keep in mind that all ethernet cables are made out of solid core wire and I've seen the abuse those can take without having problems. The one area that stranded wire definitly has over solid conductor though is that the solder joints are stronger on stranded wire because the solder gets to flow throughout the braid and gives a much more flexible and break resistant joint. Considering the component leads inside the receiver are essentially solid core wire and they're soldered to the PCB's though this is obviously not a problem. I'd say use it, as long as you're confident in your ability to make good solder joints.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 06:59 AM
  #10  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Well, if I use it, I will solder in each end at least 3" from regular HD extensions (pro) and the soldering will be under dubro heat shrink so will be reinforced by this.

Besides, I twill be along the fuselage or the main wing, were I can set it up to avoid excesive movement and the bad effects of vibration.

My question now is is if the amount of current and power than can flow through it is the same that in a stranded wire or there are some lost with a solid one???
Thanks.
Tato Lazo.
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 01:10 PM
  #11  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

Actually it's marginally better at conducting given the same gage size, simple because stranded wire is round and all snugged up against each other so there's going to be slight air gaps inbetween each wire, so there's less conductor for a given wire size with stranded wire. This is however in reality not a real difference.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 04:07 PM
  #12  
4*60
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC cable for servo extensions

And my schooling told me electrons move on the surface of a wire and therefore with stranded wire having more surface , it would be better. But then again what do I know? It was 50 years ago, so maybe they move differently now, like myself.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service